Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
very easy to make. I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. great reviews from co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2001
I make these all the time, they are so easy and yummy. I often use whole wheat flour, brown sugar or honey, and replace the oil with applesauce. I also like to add a handful of dried cranberries. Added note: 7 7ears later and I am still baking this recipe all the time! There are some in the oven right now. Must be a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
very nice. I'm a spice nut, so I added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. These are soooo yummy!! Also baked it into loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheridan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
I ground the oats in a coffee grinder, and used whole wheat flour. I also added 1 tbsp vital gluten flour to help them rise. My 4 y.o. son also insisted on adding raisins. A great healthy muffin. And because he made them, he eats them like crazy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
thank you for this recipe. i am on a very low sugar diet and this is the best muffin recipe that i have found. i used whole wheat flour and i also added cinnamon and in addition to the vanilla extract i added black walnut extract. i also only added about 1/4 to 1/3 cup of sugar instead of the 1/2 cup called for. these are the absolute best muffins around. and my kids ages 5 and 7 loved them. angela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alum Creek, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
I substituted apple sauce for the oil, and this recipe was out of this world! I blinked and they were gone. Also sprinkled the top with oats for some personality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
This recipe is great!!! I make it often for me and my children. Sometimes I substitute whole wheat flour for part of the white flour and I think its a little better that way. Next time I might try applesauce in place of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
I've tried dozens of muffin recipes, but this was the absolute BEST! I will definitely recommend to everyone and have already made 3 batches within 1 week! Can't seem to keep them in the house. They're so fluffy, light and moist. I added chocolate chips to them and that added sweetness, and I found the oatmeal to be the secret ingredient to these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
I kind of altered the recipe, which is what I do to practically everything I make. I tried soymilk so my mother could also eat these muffins, they turned out excellent! The first time I made these, I only had honey, so I substituted 1/3 cup of that instead of the sugar. I also added some spices: 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg, 2 tsp. of cinnamon, 1 tsp. ginger and 1 tsp. cloves. I'm one of those people who use butter for all of their homecooking, so I substituted 4 tbsp. butter for the oil. Great recipe! I'll continue to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIRL40165

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
Great muffins - I like that they're not too sweet. It makes me feel better when all my 2-year-old wants to eat in a day is muffins! I also substituted applesauce for the oil, as I often do in breads and muffins. I got 12 regular sized muffins and still had enough batter for 8 minis. Thanks for sharing, Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 864) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States