Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
I substituted unsweetened applesauce for the oil, two egg whites for the egg, and 1/4 cup brown sugar + 1/4 cup Splenda for the white sugar. They were DELICIOUS and so moist! I've been trying to adapt a muffin recipe for awhile now and this is the first time I've tasted success. With my substitutions, each muffin has only 0.5 grams of fat and 110 calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
671 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
These are the best! I did as some suggested by using half whole wheat flour and half white flour, also half white sugar and half brown sugar (plus an additional 1 Tbl of sugar), and added chocolate chips to the batter. My kids can't get enough of these - they are great for breakfast and for snacks. I have made this recipe at least half a dozen times and it is fool proof. Great texture and taste. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcclusky, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
I'm on a low fat diet, so I altered this recipe a bit & used applesauce instead of the oil, egg beaters for the egg, & skim milk.(If you are using paper liners in your pan, be sure to spray them with non-stick spray before filling) I also added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips & 1/2 cup of chopped nuts. I can't keep these muffins around! I have made 4 batches since last Friday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I used all whole wheat flour, 1/4 cup white sugar, two eggs, and three over-ripe bananas. I did add a half teaspoon each of cinnamon and nutmeg at the last minute. Super moist and really just.....good. It really does need that extra egg. Next time, I'll use applesauce instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
This is a great recipe. The muffins have a really good texture - not too heavy, not too crumbly. I substituted applesauce for the vegetable oil and used 1/2 cup packed brown sugar instead of white sugar. I also added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. Great flavor - the taste of banana really comes through, not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
This recipe was great, although it does need nuts in it. Quick and easy. I made mini muffins (bake 10-12 min.) and they turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Great muffins! Very moist and delicious. I added a mashed up apple and decreased oil to 1/4 cup. They were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Santa Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
I made this recipe with my 1st graders in Taiwan after we read a story about goats that make oat muffins (long 'o' sound). I let them mix the things and mash the bananas and we made extras for the other teachers who were asking for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
Excellent muffins! Substituted the oil with applesauce and half the white sugar with brown sugar. Great chewy texture with the oats, just the right amount of sweetness, and they freeze well too. Made these a second time, but had no applesauce, so I just used an extra banana instead of the oil- still good but a little heavier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
These muffins were great! Easy, tasty & healthy with applesauce instead of the oil. I take these to work with me for a nice brekkie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 824) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States