Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Maybe not amazing, but certainly satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Chang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Choperella
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
So good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
We liked these a lot! Great way to use up overly ripe bananas : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
The muffins were still very good. They did not rise up over the tin, so maybe leaving out the soda was not a bad thing. My bananas were very ripe, so the muffins were very sweet. I could have cut back on the sugar. They were very moist. I did not use the topping. Honestly, I was not in the mood & it is easier to freeze them without a topping . The only substitution I made was whole wheat flour for the white flour & added some chia seeds. In most recipes, I find the flour interchangeable . The muffins were not greasy at all. The next batch, I will experiment with leaving more of the oats whole, less sugar, & add the soda! My husband thought they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Clara, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
We tried this recipe & loved it! I changed the 1/2 C sugar for 1/4 C honey. We like pecans so I topped the muffins with pecans, roasted goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Great recipe! Very moist muffins & not too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
A definite keeper. Very banana bread-like. Mostly made as is. Upon the suggestion of another reviewer, did the 1/2 c. brown sugar & 1/2 c. white sugar + 1 TBS extra w. sugar, added a splash more vanilla & a couple of dashes of cinnamon. Thought I'd overcooked them, but they were still moist and they rose nicely. 3 overripe bananas I had saved in the freezer did the trick (after defrosting). I can see adding blueberries, nuts, raisins, zucchini, & cranberries in future batches and maybe adding some nutmeg as others have suggested. I will try subbing applesauce for the oil, using part wheat flour, & egg whites for the eggs to see how that turns out to make things a little healthier. I will DEFINITELY make these again as my picky 3 y/o really enjoys these and they make a good on-the-go breakfast muffin option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA
Photo by Jackyv001
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Made it more healthy - Changed it up a bit due to a milk allergy - no milk but added 2 applesauce snack cups unsweetened, also added more oil - 1/2 cup in total. Whole wheat flour instead of white. and only 1/4 cup brown sugar instead of a 1/2 cup white. Turned out amazing, moist and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Love the idea of oatmeal in the banana muffins. I made these per the original recipe. I found them a little bland and not quite sweet enough. Texture was good and so easy to throw together. Next time I might takeERINKER82's suggestion and use the Splenda and brown sugar and for the heck of it I'll try applesauce for part of the oil. I'll also add some cinnamon and pecans. I wanted a grab and go to have with my coffee as I run out the door in the morning. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is a great recipe. I've made this at least 6 times and changed something each time. I always substitute the oil for applesauce. Used 1/4 pureed apples & 3/4 cup of mashed bananas. Added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and nutmeg, substituted 3/4 cup of brown sugar instead of white, added 1/4 cup pecans or walnuts & 1/4 up chopped prunes, (didn't have cranberries at the time). Today I used 1/2 cup of apple butter instead of oil. Can't wait to try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 836) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States