Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Delicious... made them gluten free with GF flour... Added 1/2 c. nuts, 2 TBSP ground flax seed, and 1 tsp cinnamon... Substitutions: brown sugar for white, almond milk for regular, and applesauce for the oil...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
These are so good. I used all whole wheat flour and ground flax seed in place of the eggs. This brought the muffins down to 146 cals per muffin, and the best part, the kids LOVED them! a must have for your recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
These are delicious. I used all whole wheat flour, so they were a little heavy - I'm sure white and whole wheat would be perfect. I used half the sugar and substituted unsweetened applesauce for the oil (equal measure). I then put a teensy bit of coconut oil in each muffin tin, popped those in the oven for 8-10 seconds to melt it and then spooned the muffin mixture into the tins. I just wish I had some walnuts to add. Thank you. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Love the oat in the muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Delicious! I used 3/4 c whole wheat flour and 3/4 cup all-purpose flour. I also added 3/4 cup fresh blueberries and a dash of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Casey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Dry and flavorless. I won't be making these again. I even added cinnamon and nutmeg! I substituted apple sauce for oil like other users said. I don't like the texture of the oats in the muffins..they are not cooked through but not chewy...just awful! I cook all the time and these are the worst muffins I've ever made :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Total hit with the co-workers. I added a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lety McKenzie

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Like others, I made some changes to make these healthier. I used King Arthur white whole wheat flour, unsweetened applesauce instead of oil, and coconut palm sugar instead of white sugar. I also added a little extra vanilla to finish off the bottle. I used quick oats and they worked well. I will probably cut the sugar down to 1/3 cup the next time because my bananas were very ripe (therefore sweet) and I found the muffins to be plenty sweet for myself and my toddler, who loves them! They were done cooking after about 16 min so watch the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I really liked this recipe. I've made it as is several times for office functions, snacks for road trips or for my family's morning breaks at work or school. It's good recipe, high fiber and relatively healthy. After my 4th or 5th go around with the recipe as written, I made changes based on what was in my cupboard. My favorite change is to add cinnamon, 1/4 cup white sugar and a 1/4 cup brown sugar. I've also added raisins, or linseed, or nuts and at one time, I added all three. It works well every time. I'm inclined to try the applesauce and/or the whole wheat flour as other reviewers have suggested. The trick is to not overbeat the batter. It should be well mixed but not lumpy. And the best way? Don't use an electric mixer. Do it by hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Very good, but not sweet enough for me. I used light sour cream and some water instead of the milk to get a moister muffin. Recipe could also use some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 861) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States