Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by CATHYDP464
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I didn't have any rolled oats, so I used instant cinnamon roll flavored oatmeal and I used Splenda instead of sugar. My family loved them....as you can see they started eating them as soon as they came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHYDP464

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Besides doubling the recipe, I made these exactly as the recipe said. They turned out great! Very moist and tasty. My teens even enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Tried these w/all whole wheat & raw sugar, but forgot Sarah Jo's suggestion to add a second egg if using all whole wheat. She was right as the muffins were a tad bit heavy (not much, but a noticeable tad). We didn't notice the raw sugar at all. When we noted the heaviness, I wondered out loud how raisins might impact these muffins. I didn't think I would notice the heaviness w/raisins. My son chimed in that w/raisins these would be *perfect*! Two eggs & raisins then, & a touch more spice! The banana oatmeal bread on this site might just need an egg too, but it was even a touch heavier w/whole wheat than these muffins. For now, we are excited about altering this recipe to suit our needs. It is true that the incredible 'confection' of the Banana Crumb Muffins from this site are more of a special treat in our home or a 'show-stopper' to share w/others. However, I can't eat them, which is why I fix whole wheat or spelt muffins when I share those so I'll have *food* to eat myself. As of today, these are my favorite muffins for *nutrition* & *nourishment.* These are good, & are ALL food: Banana! Whole wheat or spelt! Raisins! Oats! Milk of choice (soy next time)! Egg or egg substitute! Raw sugar too, which is filled with minerals that feed the muscles of people w/fibromyalgia like me, so even the sugar is *food* in my book. Oil can be food for some people & we use it some but applesauce is food for anyone; *&* these go great w/my green smoothie! Thanx for a great recipe, Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Good muffins not too sweet. If I was bringing to a party or a bruch I may stick with the banana crumble muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EileenR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cedar Knolls, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Yum! Made them last night, doubled the recipe to have some to freeze. Probably doubled the banana too, I didn't really measure. Really tender and not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadiebea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I have made these muffins many times with no changes at all to the original recipe. The kids love them (me too)! Yesterday, I was making them for a friend who needed gluten-free and all I did was replace the flour with an all-purpose gluten free baking mix (and gluten free oats) and they still turned out great. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I changed this to jack up the health factor. I switched flour for whole wheat flour, 1 c of white sugar for 1/4 c brown sugar, oil for applesauce, egg for 2 egg whites, milk for skim milk + one scoop of vanilla whey protein powder, vanilla for Mexican vanilla, and added 2 T of ground flaxseeds and 3/4 c chopped walnuts. You might think they'd be way off or gross right? Well they were mind blowingly good! I will make them again just that way! Oh yeah, I also couldn't find my muffin tin so I baked it in a 9x9 pyrex pan. Took about 22 mins and was golden brown and crunchy on top and soft and moist in the middle! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This simply delicious banana muffin recipe was great on it's own and an even better basic point to add your own favourite ingredients! I substituted unsweetened apple sauce for the oil, 1/4 B. sugar + 1/4 Honey for the 1/2 cup of white sugar and used whole wheat flour, instead of all purpose flour. I also ended up adding: dried blueberries, coconut, chopped pecans, bran fiber & cinnamon! A great and quick breakfast on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Just made the slightly healthier version of these using half whole wheat flour and half white flour, half brown sugar and half white, and unsweetened applesauce instead of oil. I also added 1/4 tsp both cinnamon and nutmeg. They turned out perfectly moist, light, and sweet enough for us, although next time I will use freshly grated nutmeg instead! Thanks for this great, healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 805) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States