Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by danidoodles
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
this recipe was easy! i added in a small handful of chocolate chips, and maybe 1/2 cup or so of walnuts to the dry ingredients before adding them to the wet ingredients. I also added a bit of honey to each muffin before baking. It yielded 16 cupcake-sized muffins (only because i didnt have any muffin wrappers, so i used cupcake wrappers in a cupcake pan instead). really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Loved this recipe. I changed it up and substituted a container of carrot baby food for the oil, used spelt flour for 3/4 cup of the flour, and used almond milk instead of skim milk. The carrot baby food was a little shy of 1/3 cup, so I just filled the remaining space in my measuring cup with canola oil. I used three bananas, which looked like it was a little over the 1 cup mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I followed the recommendation to switch unsweetened apple sauce for the oil. I used 3 mashed bananas, which was more than 1 cup but they turned out fine, maybe this is the difference to making them moist instead of dry - like some people said. Also, I added a few choco.chips and some walnuts :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
made exactly as stated... I used old fashioned oats, so they have a nice chewy texture. They would be good with added nuts or coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Turned out great for me. Loved them. I added chopped walnuts, used brown sugar instead of white, and considerably less soda and powder called for. Make sure your bananas are ripe enough as that will enhance your banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
We absolutely love these!!! I made them per the recipe BUT I totally forgot to add sugar. Next time I will add probably half of the sugar, they still have a natural sweetness from the banana so I don't anticipate that they need a lot. I had some leftover cream cheese frosting from a carrot cake I made & my husband put some on these muffins -- now he wants me to make them again, without the sugar, just so he can eat more with the frosting...not necessarily the healthy version I was looking for :( I will make these again, with and without the sugar!!! GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brush Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
The muffins baked up beautifully and were moist, however,they were lacking in depth of flavor and the oats were a little chewy. I would not make this recipe again as is. I might try it again substituting buttermilk and soaking the oats first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newfad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Very good. Only change made was Turbinado sugar instead of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANTHESLP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
YUMMY! I used half white/half brown sugar, 4 bananas and a 1/2 cup of apple sauce as well to ensure that it would be very moist, and also added a TON of chocolate chips into it (not even joking the muffins are probably half chocolate!). Nice and moist and good banana flavour. I doubled the recipe but with the addition of the chocolate chips it made 3 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I made these muffins as the recipe called for, and was pleased with the over all effect. The muffins were soft, with a nice firm top, and a light flavor and texture. If I make these again, I'll likely add a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg to bump up the banana flavor, since the oatmeal is otherwise predominant. Ideal for breakfast muffins (filling without being heavy) or as a healthy subsitute for banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 789) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States