Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Great recipe! Very moist muffins & not too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
A definite keeper. Very banana bread-like. Mostly made as is. Upon the suggestion of another reviewer, did the 1/2 c. brown sugar & 1/2 c. white sugar + 1 TBS extra w. sugar, added a splash more vanilla & a couple of dashes of cinnamon. Thought I'd overcooked them, but they were still moist and they rose nicely. 3 overripe bananas I had saved in the freezer did the trick (after defrosting). I can see adding blueberries, nuts, raisins, zucchini, & cranberries in future batches and maybe adding some nutmeg as others have suggested. I will try subbing applesauce for the oil, using part wheat flour, & egg whites for the eggs to see how that turns out to make things a little healthier. I will DEFINITELY make these again as my picky 3 y/o really enjoys these and they make a good on-the-go breakfast muffin option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA
Photo by Jackyv001
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Made it more healthy - Changed it up a bit due to a milk allergy - no milk but added 2 applesauce snack cups unsweetened, also added more oil - 1/2 cup in total. Whole wheat flour instead of white. and only 1/4 cup brown sugar instead of a 1/2 cup white. Turned out amazing, moist and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Love the idea of oatmeal in the banana muffins. I made these per the original recipe. I found them a little bland and not quite sweet enough. Texture was good and so easy to throw together. Next time I might takeERINKER82's suggestion and use the Splenda and brown sugar and for the heck of it I'll try applesauce for part of the oil. I'll also add some cinnamon and pecans. I wanted a grab and go to have with my coffee as I run out the door in the morning. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is a great recipe. I've made this at least 6 times and changed something each time. I always substitute the oil for applesauce. Used 1/4 pureed apples & 3/4 cup of mashed bananas. Added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and nutmeg, substituted 3/4 cup of brown sugar instead of white, added 1/4 cup pecans or walnuts & 1/4 up chopped prunes, (didn't have cranberries at the time). Today I used 1/2 cup of apple butter instead of oil. Can't wait to try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
So yummy. I made it according to the recipe and added 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips for a special treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made these today just like the recipe with one small addition - chopped walnuts - and they turned out perfectly. I did get 12 regular size muffins and also 12 mini muffins though. But, that's a good thing because they are really good. Not dry or flavorless as some reviewers have stated. Will keep this recipe and definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I knew this would be good in the original form by the reviews but had a jar of apple butter for Christmas so I thought I would use it up instead of bananas. Additionally we are on this coconut oil kick. Everything else I used is original as a base recipe. came out fantastic. Moist, and delicious. Thank you for the base recipe! Next time it is the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fitforalifetime

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I honestly love this recipe. I followed the recipe down to a T. These came out soft and moist although I do think it needs some nuts. And I would add a bit more flour. But they were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T3meels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This has great flavor. I omitted the egg and just added more banana so it came out a little dry, but the flavor is awesome. Will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 831) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States