Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Just made the slightly healthier version of these using half whole wheat flour and half white flour, half brown sugar and half white, and unsweetened applesauce instead of oil. I also added 1/4 tsp both cinnamon and nutmeg. They turned out perfectly moist, light, and sweet enough for us, although next time I will use freshly grated nutmeg instead! Thanks for this great, healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
pretty good, substituted brown sugar for white. Used applesauce instead of oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
These are my favorite. Did change it up. Used half ww flour and half white. Half brown and white sugar. I also add half cup mini choc chips. Bake as mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Perfect just as they are! Do not change one thing! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was very good. I read a bunch of other reviews and substituted several things to make them healthier. I ground the oats in a coffee grinder (a good idea) I used half and half of all purpose and whole wheat flour, plus one tablespoon for high altitude (it is NOT needed). I also did half and half on white and brown sugar. I followed the salt in the recipe and think that it could probably use a whole tsp, without they are a little too sweet. I used 1%milk and substituted unsweetened applesauce for the oil. I used 1/2 tsp vanilla extract and think that I would go for a whole tsp next time. I used 3 medium bananas as suggested and that was a perfect amount. One I had in the freezer and was black on the outside and the other 2 were just overripe on the counter. It was really easy to defrost the frozen banana (I soaked in very warm water to defrost, don't microwave) but I made sure to drain the extra liquid before mixing with the other bananas. The flavor of my muffins was really great. I did add cinnamon at the end and would add more the next time. My muffins needed a little more of something to make the muffins slightly more moist. They weren't dry, but just didn't have the perfect consistency I was looking for. I think I will use a whole cup of milk next time. The recipe fills 12 muffin tins perfectly to end up with that beautiful height.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
THIS IS DELICIOUS!!! I did make a couple changes...I added about a 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips as well as a 1/2 cup of sweetend coconut, so AMAZING. Love nuts but not so much in my food but could imagine adding them would be great also. Oh and instead of muffins I made a loaf baked at 350 for 45 mins. After slicing the loaf I sprinkled it lightly with powder sugar. Will be making this to send to my love over in Iraq. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calabasas, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Healthy maybe but very bland. Will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Very disappointing. Very bland (and I added chocolate chips too) and a weird texture. They kind of feel like they're not fully cooked but they are. Sorry but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I used all whole wheat flour, halved sugar to 1/4 cup, used 2 eggs, 2.5 ripe bananas and added 1 cup chopped walnuts. These were done quickly (~14mins) so keep a close eye if subbing ingredients. Very moist and tasty. A good substantial muffin that not only tastes good but is pretty healthy. I will definitely make again when I have bananas past their prime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Da bomb!! Picky kids gobbled them up, and had no idea that I used Greek vanilla yogurt instead of milk, and part applesauce for the oil. To further the illusion of yummyness, I sprinkled mini chocolate chips on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 816) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States