Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This is good IF you add spices and/or nuts. I first made them as is, and they were very bland. The next time I added 1.5 t cinnamon, a pinch of nutmeg, and pecans and they were good. I also used half brown sugar and half white sugar as suggested in other reviews. Also as mentioned in other reviews- these bake much faster than recipe states. Mine were done in 15 minutes, any longer and they would have been really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I used half wheat flour and half all-purpose flour as some of the other reviewers suggested. I also added about 3/4 cup chocolate chips, and I used 2 bananas which is probably more than 1 cup because I like a lot of banana flavor in my breads and muffins. My spin on the recipe made about 7 jumbo muffins - enough for a whole week of on-the-go breakfasts! The muffins are really delicious and moist. I think without the chocolate chips (or some walnuts), they would probably taste a little bland for me, so I rated the recipe 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This is my new favorite banana muffin recipe! I make them a little lighter by using ErinKR82's suggestions. I make mini muffins for my son, and I am able to get 36 minis and 6 regular size muffins from one batch! My 2-year-old loves them as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Had to make a second batch for my childrens lunches because the first batch disappeared so quick! although I did only bake at 350 for the 18 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I followed other users' advice to make it a bit more healthy- 2 egg whites instead of one whole, applesauce instead of oil, and 1/2 brown sugar. I also added some chopped walnuts maybe 1/3 cup). Delicious!!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
came out pretty good, a little spongy but I'll probably make it again. I followed some of the advice given and used applesauce instead of oil, added about 1/2 cup of chopped almonds, and I also used brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Good recipe I doubled the banana and added walnuts and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This makes a really good muffin - I made it exactly as written, except used half whole wheat, half all-purpose flour. The texture is really good with the oats, slightly chewy, and it is not too sweet like a lot of muffin recipes. The only thing lacking, I was thinking, was some spice so next time I make these I will try either cinnamon or cardamom. With some tweaking, this may become my go-to banana muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I use 2/3 cup applesauce in place of the oil and cut the sugar back to 1/3 cup. I also use whole wheat flour. With the extra applesauce these muffins are super moist and super healthy. Great for breakfast or snacking and if I need a sweet treat I just add some cream cheese icing on top (store bought).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
perfect muffins! Used 3 overripe bananas and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 816) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States