Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Like others, I made some changes to make these healthier. I used King Arthur white whole wheat flour, unsweetened applesauce instead of oil, and coconut palm sugar instead of white sugar. I also added a little extra vanilla to finish off the bottle. I used quick oats and they worked well. I will probably cut the sugar down to 1/3 cup the next time because my bananas were very ripe (therefore sweet) and I found the muffins to be plenty sweet for myself and my toddler, who loves them! They were done cooking after about 16 min so watch the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I really liked this recipe. I've made it as is several times for office functions, snacks for road trips or for my family's morning breaks at work or school. It's good recipe, high fiber and relatively healthy. After my 4th or 5th go around with the recipe as written, I made changes based on what was in my cupboard. My favorite change is to add cinnamon, 1/4 cup white sugar and a 1/4 cup brown sugar. I've also added raisins, or linseed, or nuts and at one time, I added all three. It works well every time. I'm inclined to try the applesauce and/or the whole wheat flour as other reviewers have suggested. The trick is to not overbeat the batter. It should be well mixed but not lumpy. And the best way? Don't use an electric mixer. Do it by hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Very good, but not sweet enough for me. I used light sour cream and some water instead of the milk to get a moister muffin. Recipe could also use some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Very good. I did add a bit more oats than asked for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Easy and yummy and not super sweet! I loved the texture the oats added to the muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by danidoodles
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
this recipe was easy! i added in a small handful of chocolate chips, and maybe 1/2 cup or so of walnuts to the dry ingredients before adding them to the wet ingredients. I also added a bit of honey to each muffin before baking. It yielded 16 cupcake-sized muffins (only because i didnt have any muffin wrappers, so i used cupcake wrappers in a cupcake pan instead). really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Loved this recipe. I changed it up and substituted a container of carrot baby food for the oil, used spelt flour for 3/4 cup of the flour, and used almond milk instead of skim milk. The carrot baby food was a little shy of 1/3 cup, so I just filled the remaining space in my measuring cup with canola oil. I used three bananas, which looked like it was a little over the 1 cup mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I followed the recommendation to switch unsweetened apple sauce for the oil. I used 3 mashed bananas, which was more than 1 cup but they turned out fine, maybe this is the difference to making them moist instead of dry - like some people said. Also, I added a few choco.chips and some walnuts :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
made exactly as stated... I used old fashioned oats, so they have a nice chewy texture. They would be good with added nuts or coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Turned out great for me. Loved them. I added chopped walnuts, used brown sugar instead of white, and considerably less soda and powder called for. Make sure your bananas are ripe enough as that will enhance your banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 824) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States