Banana Oat Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This recipe was exactly what I needed. I had 12 ripened bananas and no flour. so I had to make the necessary adjustments. I did add an egg as previously suggested, used white bread didn't have wheat, cinnamon, vanilla, nutmeg and pecans. It took 2.5 hours to cook and was still a little mussy (first time baking something that wasn't prepackaged). It was actually really good and tasty. 4 stars. I would give it five but the mushy texture. I wasn't sure if it was supposed to be that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aly T
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Added a few dashes of cinnamon and a tsp of vanilla extract. Used 5 slices of wheat bread. I thought it was too soft (I guess I like a more textured bread pudding) but the oatmeal made a nice crusty feeling on top. I made a pinot noir reduction to drizzle it on top. Still yummy, and a whole lot healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
The reason I gave this a four is because I added stuff like everyone suggested and think it would've been rather bland without it. I added extra brown sugar cause I wanted it to be sweet for a dessert. Used cinnamon, 2 eggs, vanilla, and greek yogurt instead of butter. I mashed one banana and mixed it with the butter and oat mixture and then diced the other three. Served ice cream over it (which I know kind of defeats any hope of it being healthy, but it could be worse). Turned out really nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Delicious, and set well even without egg. Should've added raisins... no bread pudding is complete without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This turned out alright... but not great. I substituted applesauce for the butter, other than that I followed the recipe. I thought it was a little more like oatmeal than a bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was fun to make, but I did not think that this was anything special. My 8 & 5 year old did not like it. It ended up being a total waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
OK, but next time I'll mash the bananas as the slices were a rather odd texture. I also added cinnamon and 2 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
needs spice, nuts and chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This recipe was an awesome starter recipe (hence the 4 stars). I listened to a lot of the reviews and added vanilla, cinnamon AND some coconut rum that REALLY made the recipe just right. Plus i used 6 pieces of wheat bread and applesauce instead of butter. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookIsland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kahori526
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
A good way to use up ripe bananas and make a wonderful healthy breakfast as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States