Banana Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
I initially thought this could be made as is, but before I turned the mixture into the pan I thought that the dough looked too runny. I couldn't imagine that it would possibly work without flour so I added about a cup of white flour. In hindsight, I'm sure the recipe would have worked, and what I ended up with were very heavy bars. Granted they were tasty, and very filling. I added chocolate chips instead of the raisins. I also baked them in a 9x9 pan. But I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
These are pretty good, esp. if you're looking for a healthier alternative to other bar cookies. I made these to have on hand when I got that urge to snack... very tastey! It's very much like a bowl of oatmeal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
Delicious. Definitely a heathy recipe, but it still has a really good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I was afraid that these bars would be too dry, so I added a little bit of applesauce. The bars turned out moist, but I didn't like the raisins and banana flavors together, and the oatmeal added a rough texture. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I found this recipe delicious and particularly good for my little daughter's afternoon snack. I only changed the raisins (which she doesn't like) for chocolate chips, and replaced half the sugar by an equal amount of mashed bananas. As suggested by another mummy, I put whole eggs in it. It makes them healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
Easy, healthy, moist and delicious. LOVE the low fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
We love these in my household ... it's become a regular for us. Here's the key: bake in a 9x9 square pan so the bars will be thicker (think of it more like cake) You can't think of these as cookies, they are certainly more cake like. Also, try using half white sugar and half brown sugar. Finally, I add 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract ... gives it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
These were ok...not great, just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Glendora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
i substituted dates for the raisins and my friends loved it. i also couldn't be bothered separating the eggs so i put the yolks in too. it still turned out great, maybe a little more cakey than originally intended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
This is great! Guilt-free because it's so healthy! So easy to make, easy to clean, it's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States