Banana Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I just made them(they taste great) and they came out very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Ok, so I just made these, twice - with different alterations to the original recipe each time. First alteration - weird. Second - awesome. [p] First attempt: I used..*half white half brown sugar 1 full egg, 1 egg white cranberries instead of raisins canned mandarin oranges (drained) and mushed, but still left lumpy - instead of bananas a sprinkling of nutmeg also made in a muffin tin. cooked for about 20 minutes at 350 texture this time is different, likely because of the wetness of the oranges. (a little heavier) and a little chewier. They are really really good! Next time - I think I'll make a crushed nut/sugar topping to sprinkle over them halfway thought baking. they don't need it, but t sounds tasty. **note be careful baking, they are so moist and sugary that the line between done and burt is very fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Great recipe! I used Splenda in place of the brown sugar and added dried cranberries and an extra banana. The bars are great with pumpkin topping (pumpkin filling mixed with nutmeg, cinnamon, vanilla sugar free pudding, skim milk, and cool whip).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Really great lowfat breakfast bar. You won't miss the butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
The taste is pretty good, but the texture is a bit weird. I like recipes like this where you can modify the ingredients. I used dried strawberries instead of raisins, and added a handful of slivered almonds and some flax seeds. A suggestion -- try using 1/4 cup of maple syrup instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Wow I am totally impressed with these!!!! I’ve been trying countless recipes for oatmeal type snacks that are healthy and this is by far the winner. I am a huge banana eater too so these are perfect! I added about ¼ cup non fat vanilla yogurt and half brown sugar like another review suggest. Extremely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I took the advice of some others and put 1 whole egg in instead of the 2 egg whites. I also added a 1/4 cup of flour. I used 2 med bananas and left out the raisins because I didn't have any. I put it in a 9x9 pan and cooked it for 30 min's. It turned out pretty good. Based on what others said of it being gooey or falling apart, it wasn't that at all. It turned out to be like a cake. I was expecting a gooey bar. I served it warm with some vanilla ice cream because I felt it needed something with it. If I try this recipe again I will leave out the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I love that there's no butter or oil, but the texture of these is a little funny. I added 1/4 cup flour plus some coconut as well to detract from the runniness. They taste good for what they are, but they're not as convenient to carry around or even handle as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
You may want to disregard this rating because i made some changes-- replaced 1/2 sugar with brown, added 1/3 cup coconut, and replaced 1 egg white with a whole egg-- but I really liked it. Be warned, it's not something I would serve at a dinner party (my mum didn't like the texture),but I loved both the texture and the flavour.--Way better the second day because the oatmeal and coconut had a chance to soften up. Next time I'll try the recipe as written and let the batter sit to allow the oats to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I read the reviews prior to making this recipe and followed some of the suggestions. I never measure bananas, but I did add 2 1/2 bananas and changed the sugar to 1/8 c Splenda granulated and 1/8 c Splenda brown sugar. I did cook this in an 8x8 pan as suggested and the bars were extremely moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States