Banana Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
These taste fine, but I gave them four stars because they are a sweeter treat that is low in calories and fat. I used brown sugar instead of white and added ground flax seed, for health reasons. The bars turned out fine. But next time I will use a smaller cooking dish, probably 9x9, as they were very thin and fell apart easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Not great. A little too chewy/soft and needs some cinnamon sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nittanybrittany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
We didn't really like these bars. Usually my son will eat any banana type bar/muffin, but the texture was not to any of our liking. We'll stick with our favorite banana bread or muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I added some chopped pecans. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
So, I made these twice in one day. First time, I thought they were awesome but missing something. Second time, I looooved them. I increased oats to 1.5 cups. Increased bananas to 1.5 cups. Increased vanilla to 1.5 tsp. Increased cinnamon to 1.5 tsp. Increased vanilla to 1.5 tsp. Added 0.5 tsp Allspice. Added 0.5 tsp salt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Not bad. They grow on you. Much healthier than most banana bar recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Good base recipe. I used old fashioned oats, cut oats to 2/3 cup, added 2/3 cup of white wheat flour, 1/2 tsp salt and reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup (half white, half brown). The result was a hearty bar that could be eaten for a snack or for breakfast. Not very sweet, but I was shooting for less of a dessert. Drizzled a little honey on my piece and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I LOVE these! We have dairy/egg allergies in our house so we make generous substitutions to make them allergy friendly, but they are a fun treat! We generally make them as a dessert and eliminate the sugar but add "safe" chocolate chips both in the batter and melted over the hot bars to make a sweet crust-like frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I was looking for something different to do with three overripe bananas and found it but doubt I will do it again. It is definitely a strange texture with the oatmeal being the main binder. I may monkey around with this if I decide to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Love it! I went with the 1 egg instead of 2 whites (out of sheer laziness). Otherwise perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States