Banana Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
These are fabulous! Like other reviewers, I made a few changes - added a pinch of salt, half white sugar & half brown, added a pinch of clove, ginger and nutmeg (for more of a pumpkin pie spice), and used one whole egg rather than 2 eggwhites. I didn't add the raisins because I'm not a fan. I've made it 3 times now - once with sliced almonds & poppy seeds, once with chopped walnuts, and once plain. And I have to say (gasp) I like it better without any nuts (and I tend to like nuts in everything!). The texture is like a dense cake, and for some reason I like it best left alone. Great for breakfasts! Nice if you slice it and spread some almond butter on top as well. Do add an extra TB or two of flour if the batter is too wet before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
The texture of these was not appetizing to my husband and I. The kids liked the flavor and did actually finish the pan over the last couple of days, but I probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Searching for yet another way to use up old bananas, I decided to try these. After reading the reviews, I made the following changes: used only 1 cup oats, added 1/4 cup whole wheat flour and 1/4 cup white flour, added 2 Tbsp. veg. oil, and used 1 whole egg instead of 2 egg whites (yolks really aren't that bad for you). I also baked it in a 9x9 inch pan. They turned out a bit crumbly, but that may be because I used rolled oats instaed of quick oats. I love the flavor of these with the raisins and cinnamon. They would also be awesome with walnuts! I frosted them with 1/2 batch "Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Frosting" from this site. Made them more like a snack cake. I will probably make these again, but will try tweaking it some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
these tasted good (especially with added tsp of rum extract!), but the soft, cakey texture reminded me too much of soft, mushy oatmeal. yech -- i'm finding it hard to chew & swallow them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vicki
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Just made these. I added 1/2 cup chopped pecans, and I sprinkled them with powdered sugar. I also used two full eggs and not just the egg whites. The texture was a little weird, but they tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
A good recipe for using up brown bananas without making a bread calls for a stick of butter. I did add 1/2 c mini chocolate chips as well as 1/4 c flour. It thickened the batter and worked well in a 11x7 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Interesting bars, not bad, but not great. I did take some of the others input and made it in an 8x8 pan. I also used one full egg and 1 egg white, did use half white sugar & half brown and let mixture set to allow oats to get soft before cooking. I didn't have raisens, but added a little walnuts i had chopped already. Probably won't make again, but we'll eat what we have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This recipe was very good! I was out of white sugar, so ended up using all brown sugar, it tasted just as good! I made it in the 9x13 pan, but I think next time I will try an 8x8 pan. These would be even better, thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I made some substitutions for these and made them as breakfast bars. I used ground flax seed and water as an egg subsitute and substituted 1/2 maple syrup and 1/2 agave nectar for someone with senstivities to refined sugar. Because of all the liquid, the batter was pretty gloppy so I added a few tablespoons of whole wheat flour. For what i was looking for, they came out great. Since I wasn't looking for a cookie or cake recipe, I may have had different expectations than others. I am sure I will make these again for weekday breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
These are very good. I cooked them in 2 cake pans & sliced them "pizza" style & I iced them lightly with banana butter icing from this site. Goes great with coffee in the morning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States