Banana Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
The 1st time I made this, I thought she forgot something so I added two whole eggs and 1 1/2 cups flour.And it turned out great!It was yummy banana oat bread.OK then the 2nd time I made it w/ the recipe provided.Not so good.It was flat and really not too good.I might stick w/my recipe if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom4HIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Good bar; very oat-ey. A bit crumbly, almost more fork than hand friendly. Banana flavor is quite subtle; might have liked a stronger flavor. I did cut back on the amount of sugar to about 1/3C and used a mixture of white and brown sugars; plenty sweet. Baked in a 9x9 and turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I thought these were good. I read all of the reviews and followed a little bit of everybodys ideas. I used an 11x7 pan, a whole egg and kept the rest the same. I did soak the oatmeal in the milk so it wouldn't be as wet as people said. Mine still were wet in the middle but it was very tasty. Plus they smelled awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Yum, yum, yum!! :) I did change some things, though, I added 1/2 cup of flour, 1 whole egg instead of the two egg whites, and I put it into an 8 by 8 inch pan. This makes a guilt free dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is a very nice bar for breakfast. I added 1/4 cup of flour to make it rise a little and it came out very moist and delicious. I also used 3 very ripe bananas and being very ripe was important to the overall banana taste. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manderz

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was a good recipie. I made it exactly as the recipie called, and the flavor was out of this world. My only complaint is that the bars never got hard. Next time I think I'll follow the ideas of the other reviewers and add a little bit of flour and a whole egg instead of 2 egg whites. Regardless, I will be making this easy recipie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This wasn't bad for a healthy treat. Only two of the five of us ate it, so that is why I rated it a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suziq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This has a great taste, but it's too cakey. I would suggest no baking powder and more oats for a more granola-y affect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Bowden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Hmm. Neither bf or I liked these that much. Not sure, but they don't remind me of cake or cookies, so I don't have a clue what they are. I forgot the raisins, but basically kept everything else the same. They're a little crumbly but not too bad and they're moist and chewy, but honestly, I don't know what else to say. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
These are fabulous! Like other reviewers, I made a few changes - added a pinch of salt, half white sugar & half brown, added a pinch of clove, ginger and nutmeg (for more of a pumpkin pie spice), and used one whole egg rather than 2 eggwhites. I didn't add the raisins because I'm not a fan. I've made it 3 times now - once with sliced almonds & poppy seeds, once with chopped walnuts, and once plain. And I have to say (gasp) I like it better without any nuts (and I tend to like nuts in everything!). The texture is like a dense cake, and for some reason I like it best left alone. Great for breakfasts! Nice if you slice it and spread some almond butter on top as well. Do add an extra TB or two of flour if the batter is too wet before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States