Banana Oat and Bran Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
I rated this recipe 4 out of 5 only after changing the recipe significantly. I hope people read the suggustions before they carry on with a new recipe, I know I always do. As for the changes I made: double all of the dry ingredients, 1/2 cup of Splenda instead of brown sugar,1 tsp of baking powder, 1/4 cup raisins, 1/4 cup walnuts and 1/3 cup shredded coconut. My young children and I love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Pretty tasty! I doubled the baking powder, wheat bran, and oats, and used a total of 1 and a half cups of flour. I also used egg beaters instead of egg whites and substituted walnuts for the raisins. The cookie turned out very firm and dense, with a muffin-like texture. I dropped them on the cookie sheet and they kept their shape in the oven. Next time I will probably only use one cup of flower, and see if I can't get a thinner, crispier cookie. Nice healthy snack, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
This recipe was very runny. Not biscuit consistancy at all. I added an extra 1/2 cup of flour but it didn't help. I poured the mixture into a slice tin and cooked them for 30 mins but they came out very stodgy. I wouldn't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
If you double the dry ingredients and make as drop cookies, these are absolutely wonderful. I made a few other changes: traded Splenda for the brown sugar (kept the maple syrup in though), skipped the raisins, and added about 1/3 cup chopped walnuts. The texture was terrific! Dense and moist, very satisfying with a glass of cold milk. Nutrition information for my revised (no sugar) version (24 cookies): 50 calories, 1 g fat, 2 g protein, 1 g fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
We tried the recipe and it made a very interesting soup. I decided that the recipe must be missing something. So I added an extra 1/2 cup of wheat flour, 1/4 cup of wheat bran, 1 1/4 cups of rolled oats, 1/2 teaspoon each of salt and baking powder, and 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. I dropped them by the tablespoon onto a parchment paper cookie sheet. I then baked them for appx 20 min. It made 42 cookies. They came out very moist. So I put them into our dehydrator and dryed them. They made the best granola cookie. I will be making these again and again. There great for a quick breakfast or to take alone while traveling and they are high in fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
these are hardly cookies. theyre more like mini, chewy banana breads. i tried it twice, thinking i had screwed it up the first time b/c they were so runny.... theyre not too bad, really... i had to add extra flour and oats, but never got them anywhere near the consistancy needed to roll them. i dropped some, and used a mini muffin tin for some. i added coconut to my first batch, and chopped peanuts to the next ones. all natural peanut butter + a couple of these things = yummy breakfast. =] quite filling, too. in the future, ill probably just make some banana bread with my too-ripe bananas tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etroskipay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This recipe is awful. After following it, instead of rolling cookies, I had the consistency of soup! It took 6 more cups of oats. needless to say they were gross when they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
Very, very runny. I too added additional flour and oats. The cookies were very wet. They didn't taste badly but not worth the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
this recipie was ok..but it wasn't my favorite! It was way too moist to form into balls...so i added alot more oats and flour! But it didn't taste too bad:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
This recipe is a complete waste of time and ingredients. There MUST be something missing in this recipe. It's extremely runny... added much more flour and oats to at least be able to form a cookie... when baked, they tasted horrible!! Do yourself a favorite and try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States