Banana Oat and Bran Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I teach a Nutrition and Wellness class and this sounded like a wonderful, healthy cookie to make in class. My mistake was two fold - I did not read the reviews nor did I try to make this before my demonstration! These came out terrible! Way too soupy - so the class turned it into an experiment. We tried various measurements and I must say none of them turned out good. This was certainly a lesson in learning and I will NOT try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Had no yogurt or maple syrup, but substituted 2T peanut butter and 2T honey, cut back sugar to 1/4C, added 2T ground flax, 1 whole egg and 1/2C chocolate chips (no raisins). Waited 15min for dough to thicken as recommended by another reviewer (still a little thin), added 1/4C more oats. Overall... turned out more like banana bread muffin tops. Still tasty, but probably won't make again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I really liked these cookies, and I made no changes to the recipe. When the dough is first mixed it is really wet, but you need to let it sit for about 15 minutes or so (so the bran, flour, and oats absorb the excess moisture). They turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffanyrose86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
definitely a good cookie after a couple of changes. Doubled the dry ingredients, added vanilla and subbed in 1/4 cup of peanut butter for 1/4 cup of the yogurt. omitted the brown sugar and used 1/3 cup of honey instead. Kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Like the other reviewers, I doubled the dry ingredients. I also substituted the 1/2 cup brown sugar with 1/2 cup splenda, and substituted the wheat bran with oat bran. I also used greek yogurt and added two large pinches of flaxseed meal for extra fiber. I used walnuts and left the raisins out. Cakey, delicious and large drop cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
i doubled the amount of flour,oats, and bran that the recipe called for and used light brown sugar, which has less calories. I also added 1/4 cup flax seed and 1/4 cup raisins. The cookies turned out GREAT!they're like little muffin tops! AND they're healthy!MAKE THEM!especially if you like bananas and/or bran muffins!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Ok... the one star is for THIS recipe... but with adding a little more dry ingredients about a half a cup of flour and another half a cup of oats this made an excellent muffin recipe. Quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Like others, my dough was more like runny batter, and I had to add CUPS of dry ingredients to get a workable consistency. The recipe should probably start with one small banana instead. I won't repeat these, the taste and texture were just not appealing. I threw them out. I'm beginning to resign myself to the idea that a healthy, delicious cookie is an oxy moron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I made it as directed and it was a bowl of runny mush. Not a winner in my book and expensive to buy ingredients i may never use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States