Banana Nut Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I reduced the honey to one tablespoon and it was still WAY too sweet. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Good, but too sweet. I only use about 1-2 t honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
made recipe as is. it was a little strong to me. overpowering banana taste. my mom loved it but I'm not sure I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I dislike bananas, but I eat them because they're cheap and healthy, but I more than tolerated this - I enjoyed it! Based on other reviews, I cut the sweetener (I used pure maple syrup) way down - to 1 Tbsp - and my husband still thought it too sweet so I'll try 1/2 Tbsp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I used 1 TBS wheat germ and only 1 TBS honey. Turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is Rebeccas recipe but she puts cinnamon in before cooking. Also she wouldn't put as much honey in as this recipe. Maybe half this amount. After cooking she adds sliced banana, handful of craisins & more milk if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Gaetz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
A bit too sweet, but realize that flax not only needs to be ground but it also looses its nutritional value when it is heated - so don't waste your money on the flax seed (or any other product that is cooked with flax seeds/oil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Please note, the only way to receive the benefits of flax seed is for them to be finely ground or use flax seed oil. The body can't break down flax seed in it's whole form. Therefore, there's no benefit to eating flax seed whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
What better way than to start off my morning with a warm oatmeal with bananas and walnuts! This morning I used steel cut oatmeals instead of quick cooking oats and very little skim milk. I used wheat germ instead of flax seeds and brown sugar in place of honey. I also added a few additional slices of bananas on top. This was satisfying, healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I added 1/4 cup of wheat bran, used sunflower seeds instead of walnuts (didn't have the walnuts), omitted the honey (personal preference), and only used half the banana. It was delicious and didn't even need any sugar or spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States