Banana Nut Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was great - I used wheat germ instead of the flax - but will just eliminate it next time and use all oats. I tried pecans instead of walnuts - think either would be good. I did add a bit of brown sugar - maybe next time I'll add a dab of peanut butter to go with that banana!!! This was easy and quick and I knew exactly what I put in it - as opposed to all those packet-mix oatmeals!!! You could even do bettter than those packets - you could use this as a base (minus the banana) and add your own peaches and cream, maple and brown sugar, or apples and cinnamon!!!! Thanks for the great recipe and recipe base!!!!!!!!! Ten stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I added 1/4 cup of wheat bran, used sunflower seeds instead of walnuts (didn't have the walnuts), omitted the honey (personal preference), and only used half the banana. It was delicious and didn't even need any sugar or spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
A very nice flavored oatmeal. I used brown sugar instead of honey, and only about 1 1/2 T because i don't like overly sweet in the morning. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This tasted just like warm banana nut bread. I substituted wheat germ for flax seed and 1T light maple syrup for 1T honey (used 2T honey). My whole office at work was asking "what is that smell?". My new breakfast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Had this today instead of having a banana and a bowl of oatmeal. I sliced the banana, added the honey, water, milk to the oats and cooked in the microwave. Stirred it together and added some almond milk. It was great. Not too overwhelming on the banana flavor, and just the right creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I substituted maple syrup for honey and wheat germ for flax seeds, but this recipe was delicious anyway. Not too sweet and a great way to use ripe bananas. I will definitely make often. I also cooked it on the stove and stirred the bananas right in. Even my 1-yr old liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was really good as well as quick and easy. You could whip this up in no time on a morning before work. I subbed maple syrup for the honey and still used 3 tablespoons. It tasted awesome, but I think I could have cut out a tablespoon or so to reduce the sugar a little. I meant to add some cinnamon, but forgot. I'll try that next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Yummo! I eat oatmeal fro breakfast everyday, and this is gonna be one of my regular. I used old fashioned oats. I cooked the oats first for about 10 mins with half regular milk and half water. Then in the last 5 mins I added the rest of the ingredients. I used some honey ( maybe 1 tbls) and about 3 tbls brown sugar for 1.5 cups of oats so it was not very sweet. Also I added a pinch of salt. And it turned out awesome. My husband liked it too. I did grind the flax seeds and added about 3 tbls of it, as it is healthy. Well as I said it turned out yummy and not too sweet. And it will be a regular breakfast for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
What better way than to start off my morning with a warm oatmeal with bananas and walnuts! This morning I used steel cut oatmeals instead of quick cooking oats and very little skim milk. I used wheat germ instead of flax seeds and brown sugar in place of honey. I also added a few additional slices of bananas on top. This was satisfying, healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is Rebeccas recipe but she puts cinnamon in before cooking. Also she wouldn't put as much honey in as this recipe. Maybe half this amount. After cooking she adds sliced banana, handful of craisins & more milk if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States