Banana Nut Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
made recipe as is. it was a little strong to me. overpowering banana taste. my mom loved it but I'm not sure I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I dislike bananas, but I eat them because they're cheap and healthy, but I more than tolerated this - I enjoyed it! Based on other reviews, I cut the sweetener (I used pure maple syrup) way down - to 1 Tbsp - and my husband still thought it too sweet so I'll try 1/2 Tbsp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I used 1 TBS wheat germ and only 1 TBS honey. Turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is Rebeccas recipe but she puts cinnamon in before cooking. Also she wouldn't put as much honey in as this recipe. Maybe half this amount. After cooking she adds sliced banana, handful of craisins & more milk if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
A bit too sweet, but realize that flax not only needs to be ground but it also looses its nutritional value when it is heated - so don't waste your money on the flax seed (or any other product that is cooked with flax seeds/oil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Please note, the only way to receive the benefits of flax seed is for them to be finely ground or use flax seed oil. The body can't break down flax seed in it's whole form. Therefore, there's no benefit to eating flax seed whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
What better way than to start off my morning with a warm oatmeal with bananas and walnuts! This morning I used steel cut oatmeals instead of quick cooking oats and very little skim milk. I used wheat germ instead of flax seeds and brown sugar in place of honey. I also added a few additional slices of bananas on top. This was satisfying, healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I added 1/4 cup of wheat bran, used sunflower seeds instead of walnuts (didn't have the walnuts), omitted the honey (personal preference), and only used half the banana. It was delicious and didn't even need any sugar or spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This tasted just like warm banana nut bread. I substituted wheat germ for flax seed and 1T light maple syrup for 1T honey (used 2T honey). My whole office at work was asking "what is that smell?". My new breakfast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Yummo! I eat oatmeal fro breakfast everyday, and this is gonna be one of my regular. I used old fashioned oats. I cooked the oats first for about 10 mins with half regular milk and half water. Then in the last 5 mins I added the rest of the ingredients. I used some honey ( maybe 1 tbls) and about 3 tbls brown sugar for 1.5 cups of oats so it was not very sweet. Also I added a pinch of salt. And it turned out awesome. My husband liked it too. I did grind the flax seeds and added about 3 tbls of it, as it is healthy. Well as I said it turned out yummy and not too sweet. And it will be a regular breakfast for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States