Banana Nut Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
excellent cake recipe! I made a few changes and it came out great! I cut the coconut and pecans to 3/4 cup, added an extra banana, used sour cream instead of buttermilk and used rum extract instead of vanilla. Also, I used a bundt pan and baked it for 50 min. I also used rum extract in the frosting. The frosting is very good, but very sweet. I'll probably just make a glaze for it next time because the frosing was too sweet, and it was hard to frost the bundt cake. Can't wait to try it with the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
The perfect end to my luau menu (Kalua pig in a slow cooker & Pina Colada Punch). Followed the advice and make the day before. Even the kids ate it and they are not fans of coconut! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
I searched far and wide for something cake-like that involves pecans and wasn't hard to make. I came upon this recipe and although the cake was intended for my boyfriend, his whole family ate it up and maybe he got a tiny sliver (?). They all raved about it and want me to make it the next time they're in town. However, when I tried to frost the cake with the banana nut frosting, I got liquid instead of frosting. Am I doing something wrong? I'll probably just stick with the funky looking (but good tasting) cake without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This was the best banana cake I have ever tasted, i put in an extra banana and hazelnuts instead of pecans. Also i didnt have buttermilk so i just put normal milk but still it was great. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
This is the most delicious cake I have ever made. I love banana and coconut and this is the epitome! I've made this on three different occasions and everyone raved. I love this website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
The best blend of flavors ever! I made it for a birthday party and it was much more popular than the real birthday cake. Everyone just loved it!!! I skipped the frosting and I baked it on the day of the event, and I can't believe that it could taste even better than what it tasted! But well, next time I'll try baking it a day before serving, with the frosting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Zamorska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Yum. I didn't have time to let it cool and ice it, so I put a broiled coconut icing on it and served it warm. Next time, I'll try the banana coconut icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
Outstanding recipe. Much better than most banana cakes. Coconut gives a unique texture and flavor, and the icing is particularly excellent - the extra banana in it really reinforces the banana flavor of the cake. I lost it after making it the first time, and was so happy to be able to find it again, although I couldn't remember what site it had come from!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
I made this cake for a Christmas party at my job. I was a little worried about it as a couple of people had said it was delicious, but ugly. I made this cake in a 9X13 and substituted in some Splenda. When I made the frosting, I only used half of a banana to avoid frosting that was too thin. Instead of mixing the nuts and coconut in the frosting, I lightly toasted the mixture and sprinkled the topping on the frosting. By doing it this way it presents very festive...perfect for the party. I made an itty bitty cake in a ramekin so that I could taste it before serving it to others. It is delish! Would be great with or without frosting. I will make it again amd try trimming off some of the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States