Banana Nut Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Awesome! I made this the day before as suggested. Took to a bbq and it was gobbled up before all the other desserts and I got tons of compliments. This is dense and rich but oh so yummy. I cut the coconut and pecans in half for both the cake and the frosting and it was perfect and saved a lot of unnecessary calories. I also used sour cream in place of the buttermilk. I only used 3 cups of powdered sugar for the frosting and added 4 oz cream cheese. Not runny OR too sweet, just right!! This is a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMANESSA8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I am eating this right now and lemme tell you it really hits the spot! I followed the recipe exactly but instead of making a cake, i made cupcakes!!! Its moist, not too dense to be a cake (its much fluffier!), and has the most perfect combination of flavors. Oh yeah, i used macadamia nuts instead of whatever they used and i chopped it up so i get a little bit of crunch in ever bite! The coconut gives it a subtle kick from the regular banana cake/bread... i love it! Also, since everyone said the frosting was too sweet, i only used 2.5 cups of sugar and it turned out great because the sweetness isn't overpowering compared to the banana flavor. I also sprinkled the coconut flakes and nuts on top of the frosting instead of mixing it in...... I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Scarsdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
I will be making this recipie again.I do not normally like bananna cake but the coconut andnuts gave this a nice combination. I used walnuts .Next time i will be lowering the suger content.I found that the icing was not necessary.This ias a perfect cake for summer. The only complaint that i have that this is an ugly looking cake but it tastes superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
Might just be my oven, but 45 minutes is too much time to cook... probably would have been done by 35. What saved the cake for me was the frosting... very good!! A substitution I made that I think helps is using rum instead of the buttermilk. Also what helped me is that I drank a lot of the rum and I was pretty much smashed when I ate this cake later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I love banana cake, and since I love coconut too, thought this would be a good recipe to try. The texture and taste of this "cake" is just like banana bread. I agree with the review posted 10/10/07, it is disappointing to go to the time and effort of baking a cake, only to end up with banana bread (or snack cake). Even though I am a coconut lover, I didn't think the coconut added anything at all to either the cake or the frosting. Both the cake and the frosting were too sweet for our tastes. Also, the directions could have been more descriptive. 1) "Bake 45 to 50 minutes" most likely applies when baking in a 9" x 13" pan, not 9" round cake pans (although recipe directions say either can be used). I used the 9" round cake pans; set the timer for 30 minutes; and checked on at 20 minutes. Cakes were already pulling away from pan and were done using touch test. 2) "3 ripe bananas, mashed" would have been better if stated how many cups of mashed bananas, as bananas vary in size so much. 3) Step 4 of recipe directions does not say anything regarding when to remove cake from pan. I removed after 10 minutes and cooled the rest of the way on cooling racks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
excellent cake recipe! I made a few changes and it came out great! I cut the coconut and pecans to 3/4 cup, added an extra banana, used sour cream instead of buttermilk and used rum extract instead of vanilla. Also, I used a bundt pan and baked it for 50 min. I also used rum extract in the frosting. The frosting is very good, but very sweet. I'll probably just make a glaze for it next time because the frosing was too sweet, and it was hard to frost the bundt cake. Can't wait to try it with the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
I searched far and wide for something cake-like that involves pecans and wasn't hard to make. I came upon this recipe and although the cake was intended for my boyfriend, his whole family ate it up and maybe he got a tiny sliver (?). They all raved about it and want me to make it the next time they're in town. However, when I tried to frost the cake with the banana nut frosting, I got liquid instead of frosting. Am I doing something wrong? I'll probably just stick with the funky looking (but good tasting) cake without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
Very good! My family gobbled it down. The only issue I had was my frosting came out too thin, but still, it was delicious. Next time I will use walnuts as they are more readily available than pecans in our area. This recipe is worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This was delicious! I subbed coconut milk for the buttermilk and it was delicious. I also only put a couple tbsp of the coconut since we're not big fans of the texture. I Also used a different frosting which I flavored with coconut extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I made this cake Exactly the way the recipe said except for the frosting and loved it. Because so many people said the icing was too sweet, and due to the fact I forgot to get powdered sugar, I found a recipe on this site for broiler icing. It turned out great! I've made it twice the same way and people love it. The broiler icing makes a nice carmalized topping that really finishes the cake well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States