Banana Nut Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
Very good! My family gobbled it down. The only issue I had was my frosting came out too thin, but still, it was delicious. Next time I will use walnuts as they are more readily available than pecans in our area. This recipe is worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
This is the most delicious cake I have ever made. I love banana and coconut and this is the epitome! I've made this on three different occasions and everyone raved. I love this website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
The best blend of flavors ever! I made it for a birthday party and it was much more popular than the real birthday cake. Everyone just loved it!!! I skipped the frosting and I baked it on the day of the event, and I can't believe that it could taste even better than what it tasted! But well, next time I'll try baking it a day before serving, with the frosting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Zamorska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
I thought this cake was wonderful. I especially like the banana in the frosting. A lot of people seem to be intimidated by its intense, unrestrained flavors. I would recommend toasting the pecans for 8-10 minutes at 375 to bring out flavor and cripness. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
I will be making this recipie again.I do not normally like bananna cake but the coconut andnuts gave this a nice combination. I used walnuts .Next time i will be lowering the suger content.I found that the icing was not necessary.This ias a perfect cake for summer. The only complaint that i have that this is an ugly looking cake but it tastes superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Yum. I didn't have time to let it cool and ice it, so I put a broiled coconut icing on it and served it warm. Next time, I'll try the banana coconut icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
Outstanding recipe. Much better than most banana cakes. Coconut gives a unique texture and flavor, and the icing is particularly excellent - the extra banana in it really reinforces the banana flavor of the cake. I lost it after making it the first time, and was so happy to be able to find it again, although I couldn't remember what site it had come from!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
I searched far and wide for something cake-like that involves pecans and wasn't hard to make. I came upon this recipe and although the cake was intended for my boyfriend, his whole family ate it up and maybe he got a tiny sliver (?). They all raved about it and want me to make it the next time they're in town. However, when I tried to frost the cake with the banana nut frosting, I got liquid instead of frosting. Am I doing something wrong? I'll probably just stick with the funky looking (but good tasting) cake without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
Might just be my oven, but 45 minutes is too much time to cook... probably would have been done by 35. What saved the cake for me was the frosting... very good!! A substitution I made that I think helps is using rum instead of the buttermilk. Also what helped me is that I drank a lot of the rum and I was pretty much smashed when I ate this cake later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States