Banana Nut Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I am eating this right now and lemme tell you it really hits the spot! I followed the recipe exactly but instead of making a cake, i made cupcakes!!! Its moist, not too dense to be a cake (its much fluffier!), and has the most perfect combination of flavors. Oh yeah, i used macadamia nuts instead of whatever they used and i chopped it up so i get a little bit of crunch in ever bite! The coconut gives it a subtle kick from the regular banana cake/bread... i love it! Also, since everyone said the frosting was too sweet, i only used 2.5 cups of sugar and it turned out great because the sweetness isn't overpowering compared to the banana flavor. I also sprinkled the coconut flakes and nuts on top of the frosting instead of mixing it in...... I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Scarsdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I was very dissapointed in this recipe. The cake tasted just like banana bread, in a different shape. Not exactly what I was wanting in a "cake". The frosting is way too sweet. I made this for a potluck and it did not go over well at all. What a waste of good ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Really moist, sweet & delicious. I made it a bundt cake, but didn't half the frosting recipe & made way too much frosting! The cake could even stand alone, it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Thomaston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Awesome! I made this the day before as suggested. Took to a bbq and it was gobbled up before all the other desserts and I got tons of compliments. This is dense and rich but oh so yummy. I cut the coconut and pecans in half for both the cake and the frosting and it was perfect and saved a lot of unnecessary calories. I also used sour cream in place of the buttermilk. I only used 3 cups of powdered sugar for the frosting and added 4 oz cream cheese. Not runny OR too sweet, just right!! This is a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMANESSA8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I love this recipe! I also added 4 ripe bananas and omitted the nuts. Instead of making my own frosting, I used the delicious whipped frosting from Betty Crocker. According to my family, the cake is even better when served cold from the refrigerator. Delicious and different way to use those ripe bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
excellent cake recipe! I made a few changes and it came out great! I cut the coconut and pecans to 3/4 cup, added an extra banana, used sour cream instead of buttermilk and used rum extract instead of vanilla. Also, I used a bundt pan and baked it for 50 min. I also used rum extract in the frosting. The frosting is very good, but very sweet. I'll probably just make a glaze for it next time because the frosing was too sweet, and it was hard to frost the bundt cake. Can't wait to try it with the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I used a bundt pan and did not make the frosting. Very good as is if you are a banana lover. Used walnuts instead of pecans because that is what I had on hand. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
This was delicious! Something different. My only suggestion is to cut the amount of coconut in half for the cake. My family just doesn't like that much coconut, but it still was a hit. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
The perfect end to my luau menu (Kalua pig in a slow cooker & Pina Colada Punch). Followed the advice and make the day before. Even the kids ate it and they are not fans of coconut! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I used 4 very ripe bananas and substituted Macadamia nut pieces for the pecans! I chose not to frost my cake and it was still very good and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States