Banana Nut Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
very good, but eveyone is right about the frosting it is a bit too sweet. I added more butter to the recipe for the frosting and that cut it a little and made the frosting a better consistency. Over all yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greg&lou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
LOVE this cake! I have made the 2-layer cake with frosting as a rich dessert and a tube pan cake without frosting for brunch. Either way, it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRGeep

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whiteville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I made this cake Exactly the way the recipe said except for the frosting and loved it. Because so many people said the icing was too sweet, and due to the fact I forgot to get powdered sugar, I found a recipe on this site for broiler icing. It turned out great! I've made it twice the same way and people love it. The broiler icing makes a nice carmalized topping that really finishes the cake well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Oh, it's good, just a little dry, didn't have enough bananas on hand so that may be part of it. I was told it was more of a banana bread type cake, the frosting is out of this world tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I wasn't going to give this recipe 5 stars at first until I took the cake to work. Everyone absolutely raved about it! I definitely made a lot of changes though (almost too many to mention!) I started with a 13x9 pan and added one more banana than called for. I also didn't have any nuts in the house so I sansed those. I added allspice and nutmeg to the cake and sprinkled brown sugar on top before baking. Since I used the 13x9 it took me ten minutes less than the suggested time. The frosting was where I strayed a little. I added one cup of powdered sugar + half cup of brown sugar to my butter. I also added a pack of cream cheese and more allspice and nutmeg. Once everything was done cooking I admit I was skeptical and it was terribly sweet, but after taking it to work and hearing my boss rave about it being one of the best cakes he's ever had... I think that deserves 5 stars =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was very tasty. The cake was extremely yummy, but the frosting started dripping off of the cake as I brought it to the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akinanana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This cake was delicious! I thought that a cup of coconut in the batter was a bit much after I cooked it and next time, I'll only use a 1/2 cup. The frosting was great! I frosted in between the two layers and then frosted the whole cake. Instead of using a whole cup of chopped pecans in the frosting, I used a 1/2 since the cake it self had a cup in it. To me, this cake tasted like banana nut bread with coconut and icing. I will definitely make this again...my family went crazy over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
it is a great recipe. I loved it only thing i did different is add banana extract to bring out the banana flavor and a little cinnamon powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I love banana cake, and since I love coconut too, thought this would be a good recipe to try. The texture and taste of this "cake" is just like banana bread. I agree with the review posted 10/10/07, it is disappointing to go to the time and effort of baking a cake, only to end up with banana bread (or snack cake). Even though I am a coconut lover, I didn't think the coconut added anything at all to either the cake or the frosting. Both the cake and the frosting were too sweet for our tastes. Also, the directions could have been more descriptive. 1) "Bake 45 to 50 minutes" most likely applies when baking in a 9" x 13" pan, not 9" round cake pans (although recipe directions say either can be used). I used the 9" round cake pans; set the timer for 30 minutes; and checked on at 20 minutes. Cakes were already pulling away from pan and were done using touch test. 2) "3 ripe bananas, mashed" would have been better if stated how many cups of mashed bananas, as bananas vary in size so much. 3) Step 4 of recipe directions does not say anything regarding when to remove cake from pan. I removed after 10 minutes and cooled the rest of the way on cooling racks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seth H
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Very Good Recipe! I hate any kind of nuts but peanuts but I love the pecans in the cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States