Banana Nut Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Let me start by saying that I'm not a huge fan of things that are banana flavored, but I made this for my SO, who is. I was pleasantly surprised at how good it was! A warning... the frosting was VERY sweet. As I was making it I was worried that it would be gaggingly sweet but once on the cake, I found the sweet was a nice balance with the cake which isn't too sweet. I will say that it isn't the most attractive finished product, but I just sprinkled some coconut and arranged a few whole pecans on top to jazz it up. I substituted cake flour for all-purpose which lightened up the texture and may solve the problem others have relayed about it being too much like banana bread. I found 45 minutes for baking 9 inch layers was WAY too long. I checked at 35 and it was already more than done (but thankfully not burnt). Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Mundie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Looney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
My son and I made this cake. It was very very tasty and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I made this recipe for my boyfriend (at the time) and he loved it. He would always ask me to make it, especially on a guys night. It was a huge hit. The combination of flavours is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jubolly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I had to use an extra banana for the cake batter in order to make it moist enough (4 total). I'm not sure whether it was because they had been frozen. Also, I used 1 cup of brown sugar instead of 1 1/2 white sugar, because my coconut was sweetened. For some reason, my cakes were fully cooked after 24 minutes. Perhaps it was their thickness. For the frosting, perhaps again because of the sweetened coconut, I had to cut the sweetness. I added the full amount of icing sugar, but altered the recipe by adding 8oz of light cream cheese. Maybe I was just in the mood for cream cheese frosting, but it was much improved!!! I have added a bit of lemon juice to frosting in the past, and my only regret with this one is not trying that. All in all, a very moist, dense delicious cake. Ps: In order to cool the cakes quickly and make them really moist, I stick them in the freezer right after they come out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This is nutty, tropical deliciousness! We loved this cake! It is so GOOD! The frosting takes this over the top, I would not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This is a banana cake, so it is NOT going to be light and fluffy. The nature of banana cake is that it's a bit dense, being a FRUIT cake after all. I made this for a get together at my house, and there were raves about it. Many went back for seconds. I personally do not like nuts in my cake, so I omitted the nuts from the cake batter. I halved the "frosting" recipe, and used it for filling (including the nuts in the filling!). I also used cake flour instead of all-purpose bleached. After filling the cake with the yummy banana-coconut-pecan filling, I then frosted the entire cake with cream cheese icing. This is going to be one of my favorite cakes to make as it's easy and quick to throw together, and it is absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing ethelmertz :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I made this for my husband three years ago for his birthday, and he loved it so much, he requests it as his birthday cake now, every year! Since he does not normally eat sweets, I'd say that deserves 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This was delicious! I subbed coconut milk for the buttermilk and it was delicious. I also only put a couple tbsp of the coconut since we're not big fans of the texture. I Also used a different frosting which I flavored with coconut extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
very good, but eveyone is right about the frosting it is a bit too sweet. I added more butter to the recipe for the frosting and that cut it a little and made the frosting a better consistency. Over all yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greg&lou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States