Banana Nut Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I altered this recipe, taking suggestions from all the previous reviewers. I shorted the sugar 1/2 cup and used half brown sugar and half white sugar for the 2 cups required. I also added 2 tsp of cinnamon, and used butter instead of shortening. I put in 4 very ripe bananas, didn't bother to measure them and I used pecans. I also cooked it just a little longer than recipe calls for. Family and coworkers RAVED. Very moist and lots of banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
335 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
This recipe made the most delicious and moist banana nut bread. It was so easy to do, just mix and stick in the oven. My boyfriend and I made 4 loaves in a month. :) I like to add 2 tsps. of cinnamon and 1.5 tsps of nutmeg for a little extra spice. I stir in 3/4 of the walnuts and leave the rest to sprinkle on top with sugar. It makes for a nice crust. And if you're short on bananas, add some apple sauce (but not too much as it can make the bread TOO moist). We did notice that it took a little longer to cook than specified, about another 30 minutes. It's best just to check the center of the bread after an hour in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
Delicious!!! I was looking for a quick, easy nutritious bread... this was it! I just made my own buttermilk(2 tsp lemon juice per 1/2 cup milk and added more nuts. A big hit and simply disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Lee
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This came out really well! I doubled the recipe and made 2 pans of mini loaves and 2 large loaves (9x5) - I added chocolate chips to the larger loaves - delicious! I read the reviews and lessened the amount of sugar, but did both of brown and white sugar. To make things easier, I mixed all the wet ingredients in my electric mixer and all the dry ingredients in a large bowl, and then combined them slowly. My bananas were not completely ready but I tossed them in my food processor and gave it a quick spin to make it easier. Finally, I topped the mini loaves with walnuts which added a nice crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
terrific recipe!! moist and tasty!! the buttermilk makes this a real stand out. I used real butter also for the shortening. This is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Fantastic! Stays moist. Flavor is great. Best banana bread I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
The texure of this bread was medium to light. It was very moist. I liked everything about it except that I thought it was too sweet. I made mini loafs with half the batter. I like banana nut bread to taste more like bananas and nuts with bread. This was more like sugar with bananas nuts and bread. I think I am trying to convince myself that I like it but I don't think I really do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
very good recipe. stays moist even after days and it still tastes good!!! a little sweet but other than that, it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
This is a GREAT recipe! It is so easy my 3 year old helped me make it and we love it. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
The Best!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States