Banana Nut Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Yummy!!! I followed recommendations and used 1 cup each of white sugar and brown sugar. I also used butter instead of shortening. My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I had some buttermilk to use up before it expired and a bunch of overripe bananas, so I decided to try this recipe. I'm glad I did, it turned out great! I made a few changes: I used unsalted butter instead of shortening and added 2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. salt. I kept the sugar the same and I don't think it is too sweet at all! I had 3 small bananas and 2 medium bananas, which was just about 1 1/2 cups. My only complaint about this recipe is that the bread didn't rise. I don't know if I did something wrong or if it's just the recipe. Despite that, the bread was moist, fluffy and tender. My hubby took one loaf into work and it got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I let it cool down and then my husband and I dove right in!! It's my first time making bread and it was so easy and it came out delicious! I did what everybody else did and cut the sugar buy 1/2 and did white and brown, added cinnamon, and didn't measure the bananas. I used 4 and it made 3 small loaf pans worth. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
We prepared the Banana Nut Bread according to the recipe with the following exceptions:Used Butter not shortening; Used Pecans not Walnuts. The buttermilk made it very moist. This is the tastiest Banana Nut Bread I have eaten. Next time We will add Cinnamon and nutmeg to see how that tastes in this recipe. Those 2 spices we have always used, but NEVER have we had a Banana Nut Bread as moist as this. We love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
excellllllllllllllllllllllent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I tried this and EVERYONE who tasted it LOVED it, I am on my twelve loaf for the holidays because now everyone wants one. I do agree cooking time is about 5-10 minutes more and now I want to try some of the adjustments others made, also I got better reviews with the pecans vs walnuts. Still my most favorite ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Great recipe, very easy and moist 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This bread is okay it really depends on what you are looking for in it. I was hoping for something like Bob Evans banana nut bread and I got more like a little debbie snack cake. I consider myself someone who likes a good bit of sugar but this recipe calls for entirely to much it tasted like I was eating sweet bread with a hint of banana. Thankfully I was making muffins out of this and added extra after the first batch. Overall it's not a horrible recipe I doubt I will make it again but if I do I will definately cut the sugar way down. Another problem that someone else mentioned was that the bread was flat I noticed this too with my first batch but the second which I added more banana too and had set out for awhile baked up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
really good but maybe add some more bananas if you like more like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Super!! I made the suggested changes that the others made and everyone raved about it. I also used the same recipe but instead of bananas I used some ripe peaches and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States