Banana Nut Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This banana nut bread was the best ever. However I change somethings in this recipe just a bit. Like this recipe ask for 1 cup of shortening I change it to 1/2 cup of organic extra virgin coconut oil and 1/2 cup of butter and now that's some good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Nannee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This was moist and very rich in flavor. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This recipe is the best I have ever tried and I am not a big fan of banana nut bread my husband is. He got maybe 2 slices of it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daphne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebron, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Saint Robert, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
A very moist and delicious banana bread! Like others I used 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. This recipe makes generous loaves - I separated the dough in half and used walnuts for one loaf and chocolate chips for the other. So good! Next time I will try adding additional bananas and cutting back on the buttermilk to compensate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I used 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of brown sugar. Replaced real butter for the shortening. Added some all spice, nutmeg, cinnamon, nuts and white chocolate chips. Sprinkled brown sugar on top with a dash of cinnamon and more nuts. I didn't have two loaf pans so I used up the extra batter and made muffins. We liked the muffins better than the loaf. Either way, I will make these again just to change up from my usual recipe that calls for sour cream. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This tasted awesome.... made 2 loafs and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
FOR THE FIRST TIME I MADE THIS ,CAME OUT SO DELICIOUS,ALL MY 8 KIDS LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victoria73

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Yummy!!! I followed recommendations and used 1 cup each of white sugar and brown sugar. I also used butter instead of shortening. My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I had some buttermilk to use up before it expired and a bunch of overripe bananas, so I decided to try this recipe. I'm glad I did, it turned out great! I made a few changes: I used unsalted butter instead of shortening and added 2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. salt. I kept the sugar the same and I don't think it is too sweet at all! I had 3 small bananas and 2 medium bananas, which was just about 1 1/2 cups. My only complaint about this recipe is that the bread didn't rise. I don't know if I did something wrong or if it's just the recipe. Despite that, the bread was moist, fluffy and tender. My hubby took one loaf into work and it got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I let it cool down and then my husband and I dove right in!! It's my first time making bread and it was so easy and it came out delicious! I did what everybody else did and cut the sugar buy 1/2 and did white and brown, added cinnamon, and didn't measure the bananas. I used 4 and it made 3 small loaf pans worth. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States