Banana Nut Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Very good. Would like to tweak the recipe next go around and add a little cinnamon or nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I cooked this yesterday for a family dinner. There is hardly any left. I also cut the sugar by 1/2 cup and used brown and white. Wanted to use 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter, but was out of shortening so used all butter. Did not have any buttermilk so did the cider vinegar thing and was afraid the vinegar was going to overpower everything, but it turned out ok. I saw that someone else said theirs also collapsed in the center, does this always happen? How do I prevent it from happening in the future? I also made cream cheese frosting for the top. Will definitely make it again, but hope to prevent it from sinking in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLDeb
Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This recipe is amazing! I make it all the time for my family and it doesn't last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
cant seem to keep this from collapsing in center
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Very moist and delicious. I would only use 2 cups of sugar because its very very sweet. Other than that, its great. It does make alot as well. Instead of loaf pans, i had to use 2 bundt pans. 4.5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLPOW
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This smelled so good while cooking in the oven. I took the suggestion from JANICER8 and reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup, used pecans, and 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 white sugar. I used unbleached flour and may need to add more moisture next time to get the same results as the other reviewers. It tasted really good, I hardly want to give away the second loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I used butter. I followed a previous suggestion and pureed 1/4c walnuts mixed with 1/4c brown sugar for a prebake topping. I made muffins (24) so cook time reduced to 20 min. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I ALWAYS follow this recipe MINUS 1/2 cup sugar and my family and coworkers absolutely love it!! Tonight, I substituted yogurt for the buttermilk as I didn't have any and my outer body of my bread was overcooked and I didn't like it as much as I liked how I normally do it. Maybe I will try the milk and lemon substitution but I can't say the yogurt was a "HIT." I have to remember when my bananas are out longer than expected to pick up buttermilk for this recipe! DEF A MUST TRY! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Great Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was the best banana nut bread I've ever had! I only wanted to make 1 loaf, so I cut the recipe in half. I took the advice of other reviews & cut down on the sugar. Instead of 1 1/4 cup sugar for 1 loaf, I just used 1 cup. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikkee
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was a delicious recipe. I made quite a few changes due to what I had available. It still turned out very moist an tasty. I used self rising flour (only because I was out of all purpose) so I didn't add the baking soda or baking powder. I also don't own a loaf pan so I used a large glass pan and simply lowered my cooking temp to 325 degrees. I used 1c white sugar an 1c brown sugar ( I will likely cut that in half next time). I also used unsalted butter instead of shortening. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States