Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I have Zucchini bread my mom made in 1988 which has been in her basement 'fruit room' which still looks just fine and which we ate a jar of recently and we are still alive. I will add, eat at your own risk if kept for that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Help! Some sites, and some reviewers here say that the sealed bread can be stored for up to one year. You say one week. Who is right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
It tastes wonderful! Best stuff! I make it and send it to my husband when he's deployed and it comes out just as well 2 weeks later! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is the best I have ever made and tasted, I did read reviews and took their advise. I did not use a cookie sheet when cooking, I do think it cooked more even. I am very impressed with this recipe. The best of all you don't ever have to throw out those bananas any more, these jars store for up to one year as long as they seal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I made this for Christmas gifts for my family. I stuck right to the recipie with one exception. I'm not a huge clove fan so I only put in 1/2 the amount it called for- that made it perfect for me! (I also used walnuts instead of pecans. Next time I will add more nuts as it was a little light on nuts for my taste!) The only major issue I had was finding the right size jar. I went to two craft stores and finally settled on a jar that was a pint and had a small lip. Because of this I had to double the recipe and I still didn't have quite enough batter for all 8 jars. I did a test run with one of the jars and I filled it up a little bit more than halfway at 325 for 55 minutes. It came out perfectly! Some of the other loafs were smaller, but that didn't matter much. Everyone loved them and was so surprised! I added a cute note "Warning: avoid initial urge to break jar. To eat: cut length wise and remove. Enjoy!" I'll definitely try this method again with different kinds of breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrilledCheeseGrad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Changes: added an extra cup of mashed bananas. The condensation that builds up in the jar is very unappealing to look at, not to mention some shrinkage on the bread. Also, I had to more a little more than half of the batter in the jar, for this to rise close to the top. Will continue to use this recipe, but may have to switch to loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I made this with my daughters to give to relatives at Thanksgiving. It was perfect! I was afraid it would be hard to get out of the jar but it actually slid right out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I have made a recipe like this for years to rave reviews. I lost my recipe and this one is just as great. When I sprayed the jars with non-stick spray I also sprinkled sugar in the jar. The hardest part of this was getting the hot jars out of the oven and putting the lids on without burning myself. I have heard that this can last up to a year unopened and in a cool dark place - I would like to try that but they never make it past a month. Even after a couple weeks they are still moist and delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Floydada, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Okay,I got excited about doing this and tried in regular masons.Duh.But the good thing was that now I have a wonderful gift idea for Christmas.This is such a cute way to do bread.Now my imagination is going wild trying to figure out what other breads I can do in a jar.Not all was lost,my friends just have to eat the bread out of the jar this time.Yum.Thank you for such a cool idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
The best banana bread I have ever had. I made it in the jars and I have also made muffins and loaves out of it. Very moist and a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States