Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Love this recipe! I have made it twice and each time I try something different, I did use half the cloves that was suggested and added coconut, cranberry flavored crasins and a cup of applesauce. I decorated the jars and gave to co-workers they all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I can't believe how easy this was, expecially for a person who cans all summer. I had to purchase jars at Walmart for 8.99. I used 1 cup of mixture(no extra) Used my canning guide that sits on top of the jar to put my batter in, no mess at all. Baked on the racks and tested with my long Pampered Chef tester. Baked so Pretty....Added a christmas fabric under the lid and added the straw like string, can't remember what it's called.lol...Printed a tag from my Christmas Cookies Goose berry cookbook and added the 30 second microwave instruction to the tag. I added 2 teaspoons of vanilla to my double batch of bread and substituted walnuts for the pecans. I left out the cloves. It was wonderful. I can't wait to give it to my co-workers. I even have my nurse manager friend making it for her nurses in obstetrics and she's never canned a day in her life. I doubled the recipe and it made 12 jars and 3 minature pans. Of course we had to try it also..... It was Great.. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valley Grove, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This recipe was so easy. I gave it as a Christmas gift to my family members (being that I am a college student with very little time to do much else). Everyone loved it. I kept one for myself to try and had nothing bad to say. It slid out of the jar perfectly and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I've got great reviews from my frinds on this recipe. The bread itself is delicious, and the idea of baking it in the jars is just great! It amazes everybody. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
this was good but did not like the cloves in it. reminded me of a type of spice cake. i will try this again but without the cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
This was delicious and got rave reviews at outreach prayer. The only thing I did differently is to bake it in a loaf pan for about an hour. (I made 2 loaves, one 8x4 and one 9x?) I also followed the advice of one reviewer and sprinkled the pan with cinnamon sugar. Made a delicious loaf of bannana bread. Will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This was just GrEaT!! I honestly was not sure what to expect when I first read the recipe, but after reading all the reviews I had to try it and I was not at all disappointed. The only spice I used was Cinnamon and I forgot the nuts (distracted by the kids). I used a Kerr wide-mouth Mason jar, but I did still have a bit of difficulty getting it out of the jar..I am going to search for the wide-mouth straight side jars and I am sure they will work much better. The bread is so good and moist- my family loved it and I plan to bake dozens of these around the holidays and decorate the jars. EnJoY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I am so impressed with this!! I can't wait to make these for the holidays. Next time, I will only use 1/4 tsp cloves, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, and add another cup of banana. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
FANTASTIC!!!!Kids loved it in bundt cake form or muffin form. Reduced cloves by half and left out nuts for them. Stays moist for days. This is replacing my other recipe for banana cake that I've been using for years. A GREAT FIND.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I was just talking to my friend who is over seas for our country and we were talking about food. He asked me if I ever heard of bread in a jar, No I said. when done talking to him I searched the internet and found this. I was thrilled and now I will be making this for him to send over to him and his crew. I hope they all will enjoy it. And of course I have to keep 1 for me. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States