Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
The ideah is great. I used my own family recipe because other reviews. I baked 2 dozen and tied festive bows around the lids. We gave these to neighbours for Christmas. If you bake these on a cookie sheet, be sure to rotate, as some will brown more than other. Everyone wanted to know where I got the ideah. Thanks for great inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I was so excited to make this recipe for the in-a-jar baskets my sister and I do for Christmas. I give this 5 stars for the idea but a 2 or 3 for the recipe. We didn't taste banana at ALL. We decided to test one just in case. We kept eating it but it was more like we were trying to get something out of it that wasn't there. I would suggest finding a better banana bread recipe (or whatever you would like. I'm sure you could make all different kinds of bread) and using this recipe as a guideline for the baking technique. As a note, I believe we tripled this recipe and made 12 quart size jars, but had some batter left over. It took about an hour or so to bake that way. They started to look like they were going burn but turned out just fine. It was pretty moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dondie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Excellent right out of the oven but it really doesn't keep well. If you ask me that's a rather silly quality in something you seal in a canning jar. Not practical for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Super easy and delicious!!! gave them away as Christmas gifts and will be making more. I left the nuts out because so many people have allergies and the taste was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
this recipe is a keeper! very easy! my only suggestion - place the filled jar on the rack in the oven not on a sheet. the air distributes evenly around the jars that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very creative idea! I gave these to my coworkers and friends as Holiday gifts. Be sure to only fill half way, I found out the hard way when I put in the first batch and they overflowed over the top of the jar! I made one change, after I greased the jars I used a 1/4 cup sugar/ 1 teaspoon cinnamon mixture and dusted the inside of the jar before adding the batter. Came out great! Thank you for the creative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This recipe is great for gifts! I did what another reviewer suggested and used two cups of fruit, but i substituted the banana for applesauce and chopped apples. I also added raisins and a bit of nutmeg. It was incredible! I was not sure how to bake- with or without a cookie sheet, so i tried both. For me, they turned out better placing them on the sheet in the oven. I just placed holiday fabric and ribbon around them, and they are ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is a GREAT gift for soldiers overseas. I make all different types of cakes/breads in jars and send them overseas and everytime I hear that they taste as if they were just baked. You can make any type just by filling the jar 1/2 full with whatever batter you want, the only suggestion is not to use fruits or anything that can spoil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
REALLY tasty, moist and delicious! I will be making this again. They make they perfect little gifts for friends, mailmen, neighbors, teachers, whoever. But make sure you keep a few for yourself! I made one batch and used wide mouth canning jars (1 qt.) and the batch fit into four perfectly. Try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthyeater28

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Great recipe! I omited the cloves due to other reviews citing that it was too strong of a flavor. Very moist! I preheated a jelly roll pan in the oven before placing jars on top. They came out perfect per the time table. Flavor while excellent is more of a spice cake. Hubby and I could not detect a apple taste (we sub'd applesauce for the bananas). Going to add these to the food baskets that I made for a few family & friends this year. This would be great with butter (we tried that) or cream cheese! One of the few times my hubby went nuts for something sweet! He never, ever eats sweets but he certainly gave this a thumbs up :) A overall five star rating and certainly would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States