Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This recipe is wonderful!! I made about 30 jars for my deployed Army SGT hubby and his fellow soldiers for the holidays. Not only was the bread edible after traveling 7000 miles, but my hubby and his friends ate all 30 jars in a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Tried it. Gave it. People are asking for the recipe!!!Wonderful recipe and idea. I did not include the cloves. One reason is, I did not have it in my spices and was not able to get anywhere to purchase on the fly. Also, I feared the clove flavoring being too strong, as suggested. It was so-o-o- delish! If you are like me, I don't always get those bananas eaten when they look appetizing so Banana bread is a wise idea, especially this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrior, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Loved this recipe! It was so moist and delicious. I did use butter instead of shortening. I baked them a few days before Christmas, and just opened my last jar today, so it's been about three weeks. It still tasted just like the first jar I opened, so I would say it will definitely keep longer than the recipe states. After opening the jar, I slice it about 1/4 inch thick and spread softened cream cheese on it. It is SO good that way! I've also toasted some of the slices before putting the cream cheese on, and that makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I TRIEed this and the banana bread turned out the best i've ever tasted. only one problem. i didn't use the correct jars and can't figure out how to get the bread out. the bread is bigger on bottom than the top. So I guess I'll have to cut it in the jar and try to pull it out. it only says to use wide mouth jars. i considered my jars wide mouth but they are still smaller at the top. Oh well, guess I'll have to send instructions with the gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was so easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
What a great idea. I will be adding this recipe to my annual fall list. My jars sealed and the bread turned out moist with flavor. Can't wait to try out other bread recipes using this method. I placed a piece of fabric over the top of the jars and tied it with some string. Looks great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This bread was really good. I used 1qt. jars and used the cookie sheet and half way thru the baking I rotated the cookie sheet. I will be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I attend Feasts in my Native Village and when it is my clans turn to host the feast this is the banana bread I make...... People know me now as the banana bread girl! :) Thank you for posting this recipe here! *****SMUDGE*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moricetown, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This turned out really good - kind of a funny, quirky thing to do with banana bread - but fun and really good. I did not add cloves - as I am not a fan, and like other reviews I only added about 1/2 t. cinnamon. will make again when I have leftover bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Easy to make and fun to show people. It's not the best as far as taste but I like banana bread in general and usually am not picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States