Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This is such a clever idea! I didn't have a loaf pan and I found this recipe and thought I would give it a try. They turned out delicious. I will definitely be keeping this recipe for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Could someone please tell me why jars need to seal if going to be eaten soon. Also, I don't understand, so again helpme (!), If the jar seals, is it liked canned---and if it is like something canned wouldn't it last for a long time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Made the banana nut bread exactly as the recipe says and It turned out GREAt! The bread is so moist and light and fluffy but hearty. I used 12 8 ounce wide mouth jelly jars for mine because it was our due date announcements and we had more than 8 family members to give them out to. Also I used really really really ripe bananas and the consistency was a lot easier to achieve.(no lumps) I am mailing a couple out too. I hope since it's jarred that it will keep without refrigeration so our family can eat it :) Overall GREAT TASTING BANANA NUT BREAD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I have a question. Has anyone tried making this bread with butter instead of shortening? Also would it effect the shelf life?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This recipe is wonderful!! I made about 30 jars for my deployed Army SGT hubby and his fellow soldiers for the holidays. Not only was the bread edible after traveling 7000 miles, but my hubby and his friends ate all 30 jars in a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Tried it. Gave it. People are asking for the recipe!!!Wonderful recipe and idea. I did not include the cloves. One reason is, I did not have it in my spices and was not able to get anywhere to purchase on the fly. Also, I feared the clove flavoring being too strong, as suggested. It was so-o-o- delish! If you are like me, I don't always get those bananas eaten when they look appetizing so Banana bread is a wise idea, especially this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrior, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Loved this recipe! It was so moist and delicious. I did use butter instead of shortening. I baked them a few days before Christmas, and just opened my last jar today, so it's been about three weeks. It still tasted just like the first jar I opened, so I would say it will definitely keep longer than the recipe states. After opening the jar, I slice it about 1/4 inch thick and spread softened cream cheese on it. It is SO good that way! I've also toasted some of the slices before putting the cream cheese on, and that makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I TRIEed this and the banana bread turned out the best i've ever tasted. only one problem. i didn't use the correct jars and can't figure out how to get the bread out. the bread is bigger on bottom than the top. So I guess I'll have to cut it in the jar and try to pull it out. it only says to use wide mouth jars. i considered my jars wide mouth but they are still smaller at the top. Oh well, guess I'll have to send instructions with the gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was so easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
What a great idea. I will be adding this recipe to my annual fall list. My jars sealed and the bread turned out moist with flavor. Can't wait to try out other bread recipes using this method. I placed a piece of fabric over the top of the jars and tied it with some string. Looks great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States