Banana Nut and Ginger Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
This bread was dark, dense, and delicious! I used the oil, and cut the cardamom to 1 teaspoon, which still left plenty of cardamom taste--I can't imagine using the full tablespoon! This keeps great in the fridge. You will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Made this for a friend after she gave birth to twins. Didn't know she wasn't a banana bread fan. She is now!! Subbed raisins for the dates and used Oatmeal Stout. Wonderful flavor and texture. Doubling the recipe for holiday gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
I wasn't sure how the banana and gingerbread would taste but it turned out really YUMMY. I really can't taste the banana, it's more of the gingerbread flavour, which I love anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
What a great flavor combination. Will make again, but next time I will double the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
Very moist, and great flavor. One of the best banana bread recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
Delicious, moist, and I love that it is low in fat (I did add the oil, tough). The batter looks thin and filled the loaf pain so much I thought it might overflow and so took a little out. It came out beautifully. The dates and beer make it delicious (used Samuel Snmith's Oltmea Stout). You can't taste the banana - more like a date bread, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This bread is awesome!! It is very flavorful the second day, and keeps getting better. I used Murphy's Irish Stout for the dark beer, and it turned out great! Very different from traditional banana bread, but definitely awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
i made this for holiday gifts and it was a huge hit! keeps well, full of spicey flavor. will certainly be one of my favorites in years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
These are soo good! I loved the taste of the real ginger in there. Easily the best muffins I've ever made. My husband and son even loved them. YEA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Loved it! Has a nice little spice bite. I'll probably make it to give away for Christmas gifts. I used 4 bananas (because I had them.) The bread is nice and moist and dense. Its great plain, w/cream cheese or butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States