Banana Nut and Ginger Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Ok for a banana nut and not too bad for a "ginger bread", although my husband thought there was a slightly bitter afertaste. Maybe the beer we used?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This bread is delicious! Goes well with Chai tea. Reminds of of the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Really moist and delicious. The cardamom is overpowering though. I think next time I would just leave it out altogether and add more ginger instead. I'm not a fan of walnuts & raisins in my banana bread but I added them anyway and they're pretty good in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I made this bread last year to give as Christmas gifts to friends. It was delicious. The flavors work so well together. I was skeptical about using beer, but I think it adds a depth of flavor. I used Michelob Amber Bock that I had on hand. The only change I made was to leave out the cardamom as suggested by previous reviews. I experimented with the amount of oil. I made some loaves without the oil and some with the 2 T. It is fine without the oil, and I think 2 T. makes the bread too moist...1 T. would probably be just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I had a bottle of really dark beer I needed to use - one sip and I knew I wasn't going to drink it. This recipe was a great find!! I always have a few bananas in the freezer and I have all the spices. I didn't have dates or raisins so I just added walnuts. I also didn't frost it. I still loved it!! I plan to make this again - I'll take it camping and have it in the morning with butter and hot tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was such a moist cake and everybody loved it. I did omit the cardamom and next time I'll reduce the minced fresh ginger to 1 tsp as the ginger taste was overpowering for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I served this yesterday and it drew raves. One person said it reminded her of a Date Nut Bread made famous years ago by a national bakery. Just wonderful !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Juno Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I didn't notice any banana taste, but the overall taste was quite overpowering. It would be a good way to hide overripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
WONDERFULL!!!!!!! I used melted butter in place of the oil & added 2tbsp molasses,,also,I only had candied ginger so i used that,,but this will be one of my new favorites! Thanks for sgaring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Running Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Awesome taste. Takes a little time, but worth the effort. I started using this recipe since it called for so little oil. I just have to plan ahead, cause we do not have beer on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States