Banana Nut and Ginger Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Fantastic! We've made this several times now for Sunday gatherings and everyone loves it. We substituted raisins the last couple times and it is even more liked (and a lot easier to prepare). We add a teaspoon of ground ginger spice for an extra kick and just use a bottle of Negro Modelo instead of the 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I love spiced breads and cakes and this one is a unique and delicious variation that made my house smell great! I didnt have fresh ginger root so i crumbled up some ginger snaps i had at the house and added them in as i added the dates. It was really good! also, i replaced walnuts with almonds (because i didnt feel like going to the store) but i thing walnuts would have worked better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Excellent taste! Perfect for the changing weather (though maybe a bit more winter than fall). I took other reviewers' advice and cut down on the cardamom. I didn't have any walnuts or dates, so I used prunes and skipped the nuts. Both loaves turned out beautifully. Unlike other reviewers, I used the full amount of fresh ginger and did not find the taste overpowering. The beer I used was Fat Tire, the New Belgium Amber Ale--a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Juniper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Great taste. not too sweet. I used no salt and half the baking soda to cut down on sodium and it was fine. Also threw in whatever I had on hand: pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds and almonds in place of the walnuts and fresh peaches and dried apricots/prunes instead of dates. It was terrific! Note: the pic shows icing and there is not icing in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leila D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
unique flavor, not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was delicious! I used strong black coffee instead of the beer and currants instead of the dates. I used the same amount of cardamom as cinnamon. I love cardamom, but 1 tablespoon would be too much; I am thinking that is a misprint and 1 teaspoon would be about right. I also had to used dried ginger because I was out of fresh, but it turned out great. This is not quite a banana bread and not quite ginger bread, but it was a real hit with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Awesome. Easy and delicious. I omitted the cardamom and it still had great flavor. I also substituted whole wheat flour for half the flour. I used Geary's Scottish Ale...will definitely use this as my go-to banana bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
too complex for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is sooo delicious! Thanx Stephanie!! My new fav banana bread recipe. The only change I made was I used 1 TBSP of bottled ginger cuz I didn't have fresh on hand. The spices are perfect. Texture moist. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
My family did not like this though I followed the recipe to a "T" with the exception of reducing the amount of cardamom. Very overpowering flavor of spices and hardly any flavor from the bananas. Very unusual taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States