Banana-Nog Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This was delicious!!- I used whole wheat pastry flour and added some cocunut oil with the butter-- took this to my daughters Bible Study and everyone loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Just like most reviewers, I was happy to find a way to use up my eggnog, the flavor of which was not very discernible. The cake was like a very sweet banana bread. It puffed up a lot in the oven and the center was moist while the edges were dryer. The icing was the best part, I used just shy of the three cups sugar that was called for and I could almost eat it by itself. I took it to a potluck and people said they liked it, especially the icing, but there was more left at the end than the other desserts I usually take.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Very moist and delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I loved the batter this recipe makes. It just feels right. I made this cake for my friend's birthday. I replaced half of the butter with applesauce, (I know that sounds random, but just hear me out) and then i baked it in two eight inch round pans. I then mixed a cup of peanut butter woth a cup of powdered sugar to make a firm and sweet peanut butter filling, because bananas and peanut butter are bomb together. The moisture and density was brilliant and the flavor was THE tits. I love this cake recipe! Next time i might see if i can replace all the butter with applesauce rather than half to get a slightly more dense cake, but that might effect the banana-nog flavor of the cake. I would add a photo of it, but i frosted some foul language in cursive on the cake because i knew my friend would like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Excellent. And thanks to alan_dynamite for the alternative frosting suggestion. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I was looking for a recipe to use up the after Christmas eggnog and came across this one. Boy, this exceeded our expectations! It was moist and landed an amazing flavor from the eggnog. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I rated this five stars because it was so easy and tasty. I was searching for a recipe to utilize our leftover holiday eggnog, and found this. My six year old and I made this cake and brought it to a new year party. The reviews were all positive. It needed more than an hour at 325 though. I gave it another ten minutes. The best part was getting everyone to guess the mystery ingredient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I made this for the first time today, and this is my new favorite cake!! Of course I made some changes...but nothing major. I didn't have any eggnog so I had to make my own. I added spiced rum to the eggnog. I also had four bananas that I needed to get rid of, so I probably put closer to 2 cups of banana. For the frosting, I did not have any powdered sugar, so I made my own frosting with 1/3c. butter, 3/4c. brown sugar, 8 oz. cream cheese, a splash of rum and some almond extract. The finished product was a dense, moist, rich cake with great flavors (sweetness, banana, spice, cream)and a very light, whipped frosting...this was absolutely AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan Murray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
My kids loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JocyCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Made this cake tonight. I am a novice cook and followed the directions exactly as written. The cake was done in one hour and came out perfectly. The house smells as delicious as this cake tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States