Banana-Nog Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Amanda P
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Please bake this at 325 degrees for 50-60 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Made this cake tonight. I am a novice cook and followed the directions exactly as written. The cake was done in one hour and came out perfectly. The house smells as delicious as this cake tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I made this for the first time today, and this is my new favorite cake!! Of course I made some changes...but nothing major. I didn't have any eggnog so I had to make my own. I added spiced rum to the eggnog. I also had four bananas that I needed to get rid of, so I probably put closer to 2 cups of banana. For the frosting, I did not have any powdered sugar, so I made my own frosting with 1/3c. butter, 3/4c. brown sugar, 8 oz. cream cheese, a splash of rum and some almond extract. The finished product was a dense, moist, rich cake with great flavors (sweetness, banana, spice, cream)and a very light, whipped frosting...this was absolutely AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan Murray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made this cake exactly as written. Bake at 275 degrees for one hour. At the end of the hour it was not close to being done, so I turned the oven up to 325 and baked another 8 minutes. Each oven is different, so maybe your oven will bake it as written. For taste alone, I would have given it 5 stars! I could not even wait for it to be frosted! It was moist and so very good. I would use a butter cream frosting instead of cream cheese frosting, but that is personal preference. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I was looking for a recipe to use up the after Christmas eggnog and came across this one. Boy, this exceeded our expectations! It was moist and landed an amazing flavor from the eggnog. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I rated this five stars because it was so easy and tasty. I was searching for a recipe to utilize our leftover holiday eggnog, and found this. My six year old and I made this cake and brought it to a new year party. The reviews were all positive. It needed more than an hour at 325 though. I gave it another ten minutes. The best part was getting everyone to guess the mystery ingredient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I made the cake part of this recipe for a party tonight! It was a huge success - many compliments. I used a storebought cream cheese frosting instead of the one described here, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This was delicious!!- I used whole wheat pastry flour and added some cocunut oil with the butter-- took this to my daughters Bible Study and everyone loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Just like most reviewers, I was happy to find a way to use up my eggnog, the flavor of which was not very discernible. The cake was like a very sweet banana bread. It puffed up a lot in the oven and the center was moist while the edges were dryer. The icing was the best part, I used just shy of the three cups sugar that was called for and I could almost eat it by itself. I took it to a potluck and people said they liked it, especially the icing, but there was more left at the end than the other desserts I usually take.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Very moist and delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States