Banana-Nog Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made this cake exactly as written. Bake at 275 degrees for one hour. At the end of the hour it was not close to being done, so I turned the oven up to 325 and baked another 8 minutes. Each oven is different, so maybe your oven will bake it as written. For taste alone, I would have given it 5 stars! I could not even wait for it to be frosted! It was moist and so very good. I would use a butter cream frosting instead of cream cheese frosting, but that is personal preference. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda P
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Please bake this at 325 degrees for 50-60 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I made the cake part of this recipe for a party tonight! It was a huge success - many compliments. I used a storebought cream cheese frosting instead of the one described here, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Made this cake tonight. I am a novice cook and followed the directions exactly as written. The cake was done in one hour and came out perfectly. The house smells as delicious as this cake tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
My kids loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JocyCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I made this for the first time today, and this is my new favorite cake!! Of course I made some changes...but nothing major. I didn't have any eggnog so I had to make my own. I added spiced rum to the eggnog. I also had four bananas that I needed to get rid of, so I probably put closer to 2 cups of banana. For the frosting, I did not have any powdered sugar, so I made my own frosting with 1/3c. butter, 3/4c. brown sugar, 8 oz. cream cheese, a splash of rum and some almond extract. The finished product was a dense, moist, rich cake with great flavors (sweetness, banana, spice, cream)and a very light, whipped frosting...this was absolutely AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan Murray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I rated this five stars because it was so easy and tasty. I was searching for a recipe to utilize our leftover holiday eggnog, and found this. My six year old and I made this cake and brought it to a new year party. The reviews were all positive. It needed more than an hour at 325 though. I gave it another ten minutes. The best part was getting everyone to guess the mystery ingredient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I was looking for a recipe to use up the after Christmas eggnog and came across this one. Boy, this exceeded our expectations! It was moist and landed an amazing flavor from the eggnog. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Excellent. And thanks to alan_dynamite for the alternative frosting suggestion. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I loved the batter this recipe makes. It just feels right. I made this cake for my friend's birthday. I replaced half of the butter with applesauce, (I know that sounds random, but just hear me out) and then i baked it in two eight inch round pans. I then mixed a cup of peanut butter woth a cup of powdered sugar to make a firm and sweet peanut butter filling, because bananas and peanut butter are bomb together. The moisture and density was brilliant and the flavor was THE tits. I love this cake recipe! Next time i might see if i can replace all the butter with applesauce rather than half to get a slightly more dense cake, but that might effect the banana-nog flavor of the cake. I would add a photo of it, but i frosted some foul language in cursive on the cake because i knew my friend would like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States