Banana Muffins with a Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
These are really nice muffins! One important word of advice, though: cut down the sugar!!! I halved the sugar and they were still super sweet. Next time I will add even less. The granola adds sweetness, the banana adds sweetness and the coconut adds sweetness... so, really, you don't need 2 cups of sugar! Otherwise, I followed to a T, except for using 3/4 cup olive oil in place of the 1 cup butter. I sprinkled granola over the tops of the muffins before baking, which made them look really appetizing and pretty. Will make again, with less sugar. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
They tasted good but they were really crumbly and my boyfriend didnt like the granola. he thought it was "chewy nuts"... lol. i used soymilk instead of regular milk, almonds instead of walnuts, and for the granola i used kashi golean crunch cereal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
VERY good! I used up the last of my walnuts and pecans. Added chocolate chips instead of granola. I didn't make banana chips. But I used 3 mashed bananas. Another great way to use up over ripened bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
4 stars because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I used 1/2 AP flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour. 1/2c. sugar and 1/2c. brown sugar, 3 mashed bananas, and cinnamon. I also substituted oatmeal for the granola because I didn't have any. Very, very good! Moist and very flavorful! Definitely making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Etna Green, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I just needed to use some bananas, so I tried this recipe. My husband is the banana eater in the family, and he thought these were great. ONLY THING: It is better to be cautious than overambitious with this batter. When filling the cups, aim for somewhere between half full and three-quarters full. These puppies rise! Also, old fashioned oats are fine as a replacement for granola, and it's best to follow the advice of another reviewer when mixing the ingredients. She knows what she's talking about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
omg this is soooo good..the first pan didn't make it to the table,we ate them as soon as they came out of the oven..in my opinion this is the best banana muffin recipe ever! my family and says thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
My entire family enjoyed these muffins! I did change a few items, like adding 3 tsps cinnamon, added 2 tsps additional vanilla, 1/2 cup organic applesauce and 1/2 cup of coconut milk. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is my favorite muffins....period! The only thing I changed was the sugar I used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown....and I didn't have any banana chips so I topped them with more coconut. My kids and husband LOVE them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These are lovely! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Delicious. Didn't have granola and added oats as a previous person suggested. Family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States