Banana Muffins with a Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I added walnuts and this turned out fantastic!! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djaurora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I made a few modifications due to lack of ingredients but they came out delicious! I didn't have butter, so I used 1/2 cup of canola oil; the muffins came out slightly dry but that is my own doing (I should have used 1 cup or added apple sauce to make up the difference). I added 2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp ground ginger, 1 tsp nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp cloves. I didn't have coconut, granola or banana chips, but I did add 1/2 cup raisins and 1 cup oats. Next time I think I will substitute apple sauce for all the butter and hopefully it will turn out more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Thanks to everyone for their tips about sifting the dry ingredients first, then mixing in the butter, followed by the wet ingredients. Worked well. I also only used 1 cup of sugar and found the muffins were plenty sweet. I ended up using chopped almonds instead of walnuts because that's what I had on hand, and I added 1 teaspoon of coconut extract with the 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. I also used light cooconut milk in place of the 3/4 milk...worked very well. These are moist lovely muffins. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Very delicious muffins! I followed MADISONRAE's review and followed the directions as she stated. My granola was the Honey Bunches of Oats Granola and I left out the banana chips because I didn't have any. I just want to suggest only filling the muffin cups 2/3 full. I filled my first batch to the top and as they made beautiful tops I had to bake them for 5 min extra. After letting them cool for 5 min. in the pan they had to be gently persuaded out. If not the tops would come right off. Filling them only 2/3 full the baking time was exactly 25 min. and lifted right out after cooling. I ended up with 30 muffins. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
These muffins are the best! (Ughh! My diet came to nothing!!!) Bananas, walnuts and coconut make a perfect team. I halved this recipe and got 9 appetizing crispy muffins (2,5 oz/70 g each). I didn't add walnuts, as my granola has them. Will definitely do them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and it was fabulous. It was so yummy that I made a second batch and shared with friends. They loved them. They were moist and I loved the crunch. I am not a fan of coconut, but it added a great flavor. The banana chips were great as a garnishment. Many people complain that they are too sweet, but I found them to be semi-sweet. Overall, it gets a well deserved rating of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Family gobbled these up. Added some chocolate chips for a special treat - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Great recipe. I left out the granola and coconut as they are not favs in my household. The still came out absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Hands down without a doubt the best muffins every time I make them. Everyone comes running when the dinger goes. I don't use the banana chips and because of an allergy I use Pecans instead of walnuts. They are always delicious, sweet and moist! Great MUFFINS!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Excellent base recipe to use and follow several users recommendations. Thanks to other users and this recipe, we're enjoying a rockin' banana nut muffin. The coconut is a fabulous addition to the traditional banana nut recipe. I also followed the recommendations to use 1 cup whole wheat flour and 2 cups all-purpose flour and sifted these dry ingredients which resulted in a superb texture!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States