Banana Muffins with a Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
These muffins turned out moist, light and fluffy. My only complaint was that it was too sweet. 1 1/3 cups of sugar is plenty. That and the walnuts and banana chips were the only things I changed since we're not big on nuts in baked goods and I didn't have any of the chips on hand. I'll defiantly be making this again! It's a nice way to get rid of overripe bananas. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoconutGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
These muffins were excellent and easy to make (and I am by no means adept at baking). I did follow the recommendations with regard to the order of ingredients, as well as, using wheat flour and white flour and using two mashed bananas (I cut the recipe in half, because it's just me). I did not use any granola or oatmeal (just didn't feel like it), but next time I will add either to give the muffins a different texture. However, with these deletions and modifications, the muffins were very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RALWATTAR
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I just wish I would've discovered this recipe earlier! I made a couple of changes based on reviews: cut butter down to 1.5 sticks and added 1 cup sour cream. Because I didn't have granola, I just cut up a couple of roasted almond granola bars to make 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Oh my gosh! This is the best recipe! I made as is, but mixed the dry ingredients together first. I brought this to a girl's weekend, and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
These are definitely the best banana muffins I've made! Very moist! I used 1 1/2 cups each of white and whole wheat flour, and did 1/2 c. brown sugar & 1/4 cup white. I substituted 1 cup applesauce for the butter. Since the granola I had on hand already had almonds & coconut in it, I didn't add more. I also only made 18 huge muffins. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hughesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I also used 2 c white flour and 1 c whole wheat flour, and 1/2 c white sugar and 1/4 brown sugar. These tasted amazing! I didn't really care for the granola, and the coconut made the muffin way too sweet for me. Next time, I will just double the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sovanny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I made these for work, with some suggestions from other reviewers: used 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour, 1/2 AP; decreased overall sugar to 1/3c white & 2/3 c. packed brown; used buttermilk instead of milk; used cranberry almond granola and added extra almonds & cranberries instead of coconut & walnuts, and added chocolate chips. They were very tasty, and everyone told me they loved them, but I thought they were a little dry. I would probably have added another mashed banana. A little drizzle of cream cheese icing on top was the perfect finish. Actually made 24 reg muffins and 12 mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
These were just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Very nice muffins! They were very sweet. I did replace the granola with oats as I didn't have any granola on hand. I also omitted the banana chips as I don't care for them. But the muffins were very moist and quite sweet. WIll surely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Very good. I used 1/2 cup low fat ricotta and 1/3 cup oil instead of the butter. I also added 1 tsp cinnamon and used part white whole wheat for some of the flour. Using only 2 bananas total came out OK too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States