Banana Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This recipe is so frickin' simple and tasty, I've made these twice already and I will definitely make it again. I'm a health conscious person and so have made a few changes to help make this a bit better for you but still awesome. I multiplied the recipe by 1.5 to make them a bit bigger. I also mixed 1/2 cup all-purpose flour with 1 cup whole wheat, switched out the sour cream for fat free yogurt, mixed 1/8 cup white sugar with 3/4 cup brown, and added a taste of cinnamon to the wet mix. I also added about a 1/2 cup of roasted, crushed pecans to the batter. Finally, before baking a added a banana slice to each muffin cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
We replaced sour cream with Fat Free greek yogurt, used 1 cup of whole wheat flour & 1 cup of white flour, and added 1/4 cup of light brown sugar and used egg starts. 2 WW Pt. Plus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
These were very good. I made them with greek yogurt instead for sour cream because that is what I had. I also added cinammon. My kids were asking me to make more!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
These were seriously yucky. I followed the recipe exactly - the result was spongy, chewy, (really, really) unsweet (vaguely) banana-ish muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Floobish
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I added a lot to make this better and that's what kicked it up to 5 stars. I used half brown sugar, added 2 heaping teaspoons of cinnamon and about 1/4 - 1/2 a teaspoon of freshly grated nutmeg. I also swapped out the sour cream for vanilla yogurt. Then I added a generous glob of peanut butter, just for fun...maybe about a tablespoon and a half. The texture is lovely, a nice fluffy soft muffin, with a lot of flavor. I'm on Weight Watchers and it's only 2 points! And delicious too...a great find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is a great muffin considering its low sugar and fat content! I used RF sour cream and half the baking powder, and they tasted very good. I wish I had remembered to add some cinnamon, which I really like in banana bread. Of course, nuts would take them over the top, but then they wouldn't be 2 Weight Watchers PointsPlus each, would they?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Waaay too much baking powder. The muffins looked great but tasted awful. I should have trusted my gut and not added all that baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I did the Elvis version. Used a small banana, added 1/4 C creamy p. butter, subbed mayo for the sour cream and an extra egg. Batter was a bit thick so added a splash of milk.Ooooh yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Justin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aitkin, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I would eat these, but i wouldn't make them again. They were tasty enough but a little too chewy and they didn't have quite enough flavor...but they were low cal which was nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States