Banana Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised at how delicious these were. I used half all-purpose flour and half whole wheat flour. I also substituted the sour cream for light vanilla yogurt and added a small handful of chocolate chips. A+++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Okay, I made changes - but I am sure the base recipe is good as is! I just wanted to share my ideas: I used brown sugar instead of white, 3/4 cup flour and 1/4 cup quick oats, fat free plain yogurt instead of sour cream, one TBSP vegetable oil, and two TBSP of vanilla protein powder. These are great and won't wreck your diet!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VD711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This calls for 1 Tablespoon of Baking Powder. It just seems like too much, maybe it should be 1 Teaspoon. I made this recipe and doubled it and used 1 Tablespoon Baking Powder. I could taste the Baking Powder in the muffin after it was made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I always make Janet's Rich Banana Bread when my bananas go; it's an awesome recipe, but not very healthy. I wanted some lighter muffins since we're not very active this time of the year. This is a good recipe considering the ingredients but is by no means decadent and has only passable texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Read

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I have made these muffins several times, and they turn out great every time. I usually stir about 1/4 cup of chopped pecans into my batter, which is also very good, but not necessary. If you have 2 or 3 bananas that are turning too ripe to eat, this is a great way to use them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S*T*L*Y

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
These were fantastic! I run a daycare out of my home, and these muffins are the perfect, healthy snack or breakfast for the kids. Thanks...they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Good. Stuck to liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Very good, nice flavor and texture--but I kind of missed the slightly sweeter, harder top of muffins with more sugar. But they taste wonderful without more sugar ... !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
After reading the reviews I had to try this recipe and I luv luv luv it. The thing I had to change was the flour since I doubled the recipe (due to the reviews and I'm glad I did) I used 1cup rice flour and 1 cup gluten free all purpose flour, then added 1tsp xanthum gum as the thickening agent. And I did use the small tropical bananas because I find they have more flavor. These are sooooo my favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Love this recipe! With a few changes suggested before, I replaced 1/2 cup white flour with whole wheat flour and added 3 tbsp wheat germ. Decreased baking powder to 2 tsp, increased vanilla to 1 tsp and used plain fat free yogurt instead of sour cream. I think they have great flavour and even my nephew who hates all things healthy loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States