Banana Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Wonderful recipe!! So easy!! They were moist and fluffy, and tasted great! I added chocolate chips to a few and they were so GREAT! Will make again and again! Thank you for this easy tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckybailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
These were really good! I made the recipe exactly as written (but with fat free sour cream instead of plain), and they turned out very tasty. Perfect amounts, perfect temperature, even perfect baking time. My husband made a face when he saw me preparing them, "You're putting sour cream in the banana bread?," but when he tasted them he was very pleased. I'm always trying different banana bread/muffin recipes (some are too sweet or are too unhealthy written as-is), and this one is a keeper. They would also be good with a little cinnamon and/or nutmeg added, but it's not a requirement. Thanks, Tahoegirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
yummy recipe! very moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
These muffins are SO good. I can't even describe the taste... the texture... oh, they're wonderful. Every time we have bananas my family begs me to make them. I've learned they're even better when throwing in a handful of chocolate chips at the end of mixing. Yummy! 5 stars all the way; I'm keeping this recipe forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
might add a tad more salt. I added some pecans which worked well. might try the cinnamon and nutmeg next time as others did. really a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This is the best lower-fat muffin recipe I've ever used. I was looking for something a little different and liked the idea of sour cream instead of the standard yogurt/applesauce. Made the following changes/additions: 1/2 AP and 1/2 whole wheat flour, brown sugar instead of white, low-fat sour cream (added a little extra), about a tablespoon of ground flaxseed, sprinkled in some cinnamon and nutmeg, and lightly covered the tops with a cinn/sugar mix and some fresh blueberries. The texture is awesome! Baked fully in 17 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I am super impressed with these muffins! I made them one night simply because I had two large overly ripe bananas, and most recipes seem to call for three bananas. I just wanted to get rid of my mushy produce, and expected some adequate muffins... But now I have to say, I think this is my FAVORITE banana muffin recipe on Allrecipes (and I've tried a few!). I just love that it's not obscenely sweet, and I think the sour cream makes them taste extremely moist (I used light sour cream)... no oil or butter needed! For my second batch, I threw in a handful of Ghiradelli semisweet chips... DECADENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
so good will make these over and over i couldnt stop eating them...thanks for the recipe these are delish!!...made them exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I used only 1 tsp of baking powder and fat-free yogurt instead of sour cream. I mixed the baking soda with the yogurt first, then stirred in the rest of the ingredients, wet first, then dry. Turned out nicely although they were a little less "structured" than a regular muffin would be. I will make these again and attempt a sugar-free version with Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenfire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
What an excellent, guilt free way to use ripe bananas! No alterations needed, but if I made some it would be to add baking soda to the sour cream, then fold into the bananas/sugar/egg, then lightly stir in dry ingredients. This makes for a very light and airy muffin. You could also add 1/4 cup mini chocolate chips. As others have stated, plain yogurt can be used in place of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States