Banana Macaroon Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I was a little hesitant to serve this at Easter because my fam loves chocolate, but WOW, this was amazing. The homemade macaroons really made this dish. My brother had 3 helpings!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I haven't tasted this recipe yet, it's for brunch tomorrow. However I had a few issues with this recipe. First I didn't think it made very much. I used my "death by chocolate bowl" and it was only a little over half full. Second, the directions say to cook the macaroons until the edges are golden brown, which is what I did. However when it cooled, the middle was still soft and chewy. Since there was no detail describing how it should be, I thought it was undercooked because I couldn't "crumble" it. So I had to cook it some more, therefore making the whole thing take longer. I also had to use extra whipped cream because when spreading, it picked up a lot of the crumble so I had to layer it thicker. It looks alright, has ingredients I like so I assume it will taste good. ***I had a chance to taste this dish today and it was wonderful. It's light and the macaroons are amazing in it. I still have the issues listed above but next time I might just double the recipe. The taste was a 5 but the recipe itself was a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
It tasted good but the macaroon put didn't turn out. Next time I would use a different macaroon recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I made this for Easter and it was a HUGE hit. So incredibly easy to make, inexpesive ingreients, soooo tasty. People were fighting to take it home. It's not a super heavy dessert. I think it's perfect for spring and summer gatherings. I definately will be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
the taste was great however not enough macaroon to make a trifle i had to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This is now a family favorite...so good and so easy. I even did "mini trifles" for a potluck in which I assembled the trifles in small plastic cups so each person could grab their own individual serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I think next time I'll add a layer of pudding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISHUNEB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Outstanding! This was so easy to make; much easier than it looks at first and it is worth every minute! I like my desserts to be rich, so I sprinkled a little dark brown sugar on each banana layer & topped it with toasted coconut. Excellent taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hawthorne
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Very simple to assemble. Perfect for potlucks: refreshing, tropical, and quick. Looks like it took days to assemble. This is very sweet (hence 4 stars), but because of that, will go a long way at a potluck. Next time, we plan on adding pineapple chunks to the banana layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
The homemade macaroons really make this recipe work. I did add a layer of vanilla pudding to give it more of a thicker consistency. This is a great recipe and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKennacat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States