Banana Macaroon Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I was a little hesitant to serve this at Easter because my fam loves chocolate, but WOW, this was amazing. The homemade macaroons really made this dish. My brother had 3 helpings!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I haven't tasted this recipe yet, it's for brunch tomorrow. However I had a few issues with this recipe. First I didn't think it made very much. I used my "death by chocolate bowl" and it was only a little over half full. Second, the directions say to cook the macaroons until the edges are golden brown, which is what I did. However when it cooled, the middle was still soft and chewy. Since there was no detail describing how it should be, I thought it was undercooked because I couldn't "crumble" it. So I had to cook it some more, therefore making the whole thing take longer. I also had to use extra whipped cream because when spreading, it picked up a lot of the crumble so I had to layer it thicker. It looks alright, has ingredients I like so I assume it will taste good. ***I had a chance to taste this dish today and it was wonderful. It's light and the macaroons are amazing in it. I still have the issues listed above but next time I might just double the recipe. The taste was a 5 but the recipe itself was a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
It tasted good but the macaroon put didn't turn out. Next time I would use a different macaroon recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I made this for Easter and it was a HUGE hit. So incredibly easy to make, inexpesive ingreients, soooo tasty. People were fighting to take it home. It's not a super heavy dessert. I think it's perfect for spring and summer gatherings. I definately will be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
the taste was great however not enough macaroon to make a trifle i had to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This is now a family favorite...so good and so easy. I even did "mini trifles" for a potluck in which I assembled the trifles in small plastic cups so each person could grab their own individual serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I think next time I'll add a layer of pudding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISHUNEB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Outstanding! This was so easy to make; much easier than it looks at first and it is worth every minute! I like my desserts to be rich, so I sprinkled a little dark brown sugar on each banana layer & topped it with toasted coconut. Excellent taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hawthorne
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Very simple to assemble. Perfect for potlucks: refreshing, tropical, and quick. Looks like it took days to assemble. This is very sweet (hence 4 stars), but because of that, will go a long way at a potluck. Next time, we plan on adding pineapple chunks to the banana layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
The homemade macaroons really make this recipe work. I did add a layer of vanilla pudding to give it more of a thicker consistency. This is a great recipe and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKennacat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States