Banana Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
this bread was wonderfully moist! i totallly changed a couple things in the recipe, i used 1 cup brown sugar instead of white sugar,, i used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose flour and i added a tsp and a half of vanilla... so the bread was browner... it was very moist and i ate half the loaf before it cooled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This is the best banana bread recipe I've ever made. I tried it because it looked quick - and called for 3 ripe bananas which I needed to get rid of. I left the walnuts out and substituted vanilla chips. I also added a teaspoon of Vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Had mixed success with this one. I used only brown sugar in the amount indicated, and that might be the problem. Wife suggested needs to be sweeter, stick with white sugar (however, note that in many reviews of this dish a ½ brown and white sugar mix is used and suggested). Also we don't use nuts because my son can have a non-tolerant reaction to them. But he didn't even finish his first slice. Wife thinks there's too much backing powder, "I can taste it try cutting it in half". I didn't even know baking powder had a taste. I still don't. Wife did say something that hints on were to go with this. She noted that, "...muffin-like breads like this loaf can be tricky". As you make this dish, try keeping that hint in mind. For example are raisins a good addition? And any tricks you have to help keep a muffin from becoming a heavy blob, they might need to be put in play here. I've given the dish a 4 star because I do like it. But, again, it's trickier than a rooky baker might want to take on. And that's just my story, "Rooky baker takes on more than family can chew".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
like other reviewers i used 1/2 c. white sugar & 1/2 c. brown sugar plus added 1/2 tsp. vanilla to the batter. half whole wheat & half all-purpose flour worked very well too. lastly, i couldn't help but sprinkle a little cinnamon-sugar overtop before baking this wonderful bread. i made an extra loaf as a gift for friends....they loved it! many thanks madison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
So simple to make and very moist. A great way to use up ripe bananas. This was probably the best banana bread on the site. Definitely give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
best banana LOAF ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Excellent! The bread was so moist and delicious. I liked the nuts but I would like to substitute them with chocolate chips next time. Good work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Great recipe, I also substituted the 1/2 cup sugar for brown sugar, I also used pecan slivers instead of walnuts. Topping with sugar, turned out very moist and tasted even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
The loaf was moist and yummy. I changed a bit the original recipe. I used whole wheat flour instead of white. Brown sugar Twin (artificial sugar), chopped almond and Becel(instead of butter). it was so yummy,,,everybody liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
This was superb! My 3 yr old loved it, my husband loved it, my 7 mo. old wants to try it, and I loved it! And boy was it easy to make, too! I substituted 1/2 cup of the white sugar for brown, added vanilla & 1/2 tsp of cinnamon & omitted the nuts. I also baked for 45 min. in a 8x8 pan. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States